Gingerbread Cookie Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
It was good, but the liquid needs to be reduced a lot for decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
My cookies originally were bland, so I wanted to frost them. I added crushed ginger, nutmeg, pumpkin spice, and vanilla. I didn't measure out anything, I just kind of eyeballed it. Taste tested it along the way. Made a huge difference. The cookies are irresistible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
The recipe itself should have been easy but I just wrote down the two ingredients and missed the add milk until correct consistency I should have known because a few days ago I made frosting and for 1 cup of powered sugar it was 2 Tbs of milk and 2Tbs corn syrup. For this I ended up with a giant amount of frosting so we made homemade cinnamon rolls in the morning. I added a little ginger and cinnamon to the frosting yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Followed recipe, the portions are not even close. Tried to get it the right consistency, I didn't have all day to fiddle fart around to get the consistency right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Ended up using 1 cup of powdered sugar, 2 teaspoons of vanilla, and around 3 tablespoons of milk to make a really great icing! I drizzled it over "Big Soft Ginger Cookies" from this site and didn't regret it. (I must say, though, it was a lot more of an icing/glaze than a frosting. The texture of mine was very unlike the picture you posted!) Thanks for posting! (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Measurements are CRAZY! I doubled the sugar, but it was still too thin! It made gingerbread men soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Great recipe! It tastes great and does not take long to make. Thank you! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
While I found that 1/4 cup of milk was too much (especially when doubling the recipe and using 1/2 cup), I also found that it allowed me to just dump in the rest of the powdered sugar in the bag and not have to take up space.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
The first time I made this, it was a wonderful glaze that my boyfriend and I used to finger paint the cookies. :) However, the second time, I simply used 1/8 cup of milk instead of the 1/4. And it was perfect for decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
DEFINITELY WAAAAY too much milk!! I had to put a total of 4 cups of sugar to make it the right consistency. It had no flavor other than powder sugar - I added 1 tsp lemon extract and it was better - but still not that great. Would not recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States