Gingerbread Cookie Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Great recipe! It tastes great and does not take long to make. Thank you! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This was a great frosting for my gingerbread men. I did find, however, that 1/4 cup of milk was far to much and produced a very runny frosting-more like a glaze. I kept adding sugar until it was more of a spreading consistancy. I also made a batch that was very stiff and put it into a bag and piped it onto the arms and legs-it was adorable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This was very good. The only problem is that the name of the recipe should be gingerbread glaze. I added about 5 more cups of powdered sugar and made a thicker icing to pipe on decorations. Great recipe. You can't mess it up! I made some gingerbread men with the very runny glaze and some with a stiffer version more like a frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Thanks Alison for the recipe! After reading the reviews, I only added 1 tbsp of milk at a time and ended between 3 and 4 tbsps. My kids (5 & 3) enjoyed frosting their gingerbread cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
Great on gingerbread! As others have said, more of a glaze than a frosting. I used about 1/6 milk with 1 cup sugar and the consistency was perfect. I added 1 drop red food coloring for a nice pink color and used them on my Valentine's day cookies. They were a big hit. Will use again. Thanks Alison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Please note that the directions do not say to add the entire 1/4 cup of milk, it states to add ENOUGH milk to make a smooth but not too runny consistency. So all of those who are blaming the recipe for being too runny should blame themselves for not following directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
My cookies originally were bland, so I wanted to frost them. I added crushed ginger, nutmeg, pumpkin spice, and vanilla. I didn't measure out anything, I just kind of eyeballed it. Taste tested it along the way. Made a huge difference. The cookies are irresistible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
While I found that 1/4 cup of milk was too much (especially when doubling the recipe and using 1/2 cup), I also found that it allowed me to just dump in the rest of the powdered sugar in the bag and not have to take up space.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Ended up using 1 cup of powdered sugar, 2 teaspoons of vanilla, and around 3 tablespoons of milk to make a really great icing! I drizzled it over "Big Soft Ginger Cookies" from this site and didn't regret it. (I must say, though, it was a lot more of an icing/glaze than a frosting. The texture of mine was very unlike the picture you posted!) Thanks for posting! (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
The recipe itself should have been easy but I just wrote down the two ingredients and missed the add milk until correct consistency I should have known because a few days ago I made frosting and for 1 cup of powered sugar it was 2 Tbs of milk and 2Tbs corn syrup. For this I ended up with a giant amount of frosting so we made homemade cinnamon rolls in the morning. I added a little ginger and cinnamon to the frosting yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States