Gingerbread Cookie Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This was a great frosting for my gingerbread men. I did find, however, that 1/4 cup of milk was far to much and produced a very runny frosting-more like a glaze. I kept adding sugar until it was more of a spreading consistancy. I also made a batch that was very stiff and put it into a bag and piped it onto the arms and legs-it was adorable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
235 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
This frosting recipe makes a good "glaze" for gingerbread cookies, as other raters have stated. I was looking for a frosting that would stiffen up nicely so I changed it up slightly. Instead of the 1/4c of milk, I used 1 large egg white & I doubled the powdered sugar to 2 cups. I also add the juice of 1/2 lemon; it gives it a less "powdery sugar" flavor but does not overpower. I'm a big fan of vanilla extract so I usually add a little of that too! Stick to the clear vanilla extract if you want to keep the frosting white. Add food color for color. I found this combination to be good for decorating as well as "flooding". To "flood", you will need to dilute frosting w/more egg white to thin it out. Also, I use the liquid egg whites in the carton; no yolks to deal with & they're pasteurized, which makes them much safer to consume than traditional raw egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves 2 Cook!

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Please note that the directions do not say to add the entire 1/4 cup of milk, it states to add ENOUGH milk to make a smooth but not too runny consistency. So all of those who are blaming the recipe for being too runny should blame themselves for not following directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
I could not find my recipe for Gingerbread cookies so I made these instead .......I was very disappointed in the outcome. They did not have a good flavor or a food texture. WASTE IF TIME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
Great on gingerbread! As others have said, more of a glaze than a frosting. I used about 1/6 milk with 1 cup sugar and the consistency was perfect. I added 1 drop red food coloring for a nice pink color and used them on my Valentine's day cookies. They were a big hit. Will use again. Thanks Alison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Thanks Alison for the recipe! After reading the reviews, I only added 1 tbsp of milk at a time and ended between 3 and 4 tbsps. My kids (5 & 3) enjoyed frosting their gingerbread cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
If you read the instructions (a lot of the reviewers clearly didn't!)...it says to start with the sugar and add as much milk as needed to make a good consistancy. If you follow this you will not get too runny a consistancy and it will work just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
Way too runny. You need about 5 times as much powdered sugar then it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This was very good. The only problem is that the name of the recipe should be gingerbread glaze. I added about 5 more cups of powdered sugar and made a thicker icing to pipe on decorations. Great recipe. You can't mess it up! I made some gingerbread men with the very runny glaze and some with a stiffer version more like a frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Excellent frosting, simple to make. However, I also found that 1/4 cup of milk was WAY too much. Definitely start by just stirring a small amount in and adding more as you go. If the mix becomes too runny it slides off the cookie and smears your design. Otherwise, GREAT RECIPE! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States