Gingerbread Cookie Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This is not really a recipe. It just tells you to add too much milk to some sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
For a stiffer frosting add less milk and cream of tartar. I also like to add vanilla or other extract for flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Leaves

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
The proportions are so far off for this recipe, hense the two stars. To be successful I had to start with one cup of sugar, then add milk by the teaspoon until it had the right consistency to be piped on. With the right proportions, however it a wonderful job adhering our candy to the gingerbread. Taste wise, it wasn't phonomenal but for adhering other things and decoration it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
This frosting recipe makes a good "glaze" for gingerbread cookies, as other raters have stated. I was looking for a frosting that would stiffen up nicely so I changed it up slightly. Instead of the 1/4c of milk, I used 1 large egg white & I doubled the powdered sugar to 2 cups. I also add the juice of 1/2 lemon; it gives it a less "powdery sugar" flavor but does not overpower. I'm a big fan of vanilla extract so I usually add a little of that too! Stick to the clear vanilla extract if you want to keep the frosting white. Add food color for color. I found this combination to be good for decorating as well as "flooding". To "flood", you will need to dilute frosting w/more egg white to thin it out. Also, I use the liquid egg whites in the carton; no yolks to deal with & they're pasteurized, which makes them much safer to consume than traditional raw egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves 2 Cook!

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
This was a decent recipe, though quite runny, even when you add a ton extra icing sugar (and I did), it's a bit hard to work with, BUT it does harden up nice. I found using a tooth pick to apply the frosting really worked well. A spoon was to big .. makes a mess! Cookies look cute! Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBEB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Recipe didn't work. No matter how much powdered sugar I added on top of recommended from recipe, it didn't thicken. Maybe it matters what type of milk you use? I used skim. Maybe it matters if it is room temperature? I used cold milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Excellent frosting, simple to make. However, I also found that 1/4 cup of milk was WAY too much. Definitely start by just stirring a small amount in and adding more as you go. If the mix becomes too runny it slides off the cookie and smears your design. Otherwise, GREAT RECIPE! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
Great on gingerbread! As others have said, more of a glaze than a frosting. I used about 1/6 milk with 1 cup sugar and the consistency was perfect. I added 1 drop red food coloring for a nice pink color and used them on my Valentine's day cookies. They were a big hit. Will use again. Thanks Alison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Thanks Alison for the recipe! After reading the reviews, I only added 1 tbsp of milk at a time and ended between 3 and 4 tbsps. My kids (5 & 3) enjoyed frosting their gingerbread cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This was very good. The only problem is that the name of the recipe should be gingerbread glaze. I added about 5 more cups of powdered sugar and made a thicker icing to pipe on decorations. Great recipe. You can't mess it up! I made some gingerbread men with the very runny glaze and some with a stiffer version more like a frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States