Gingerbread Cookie Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
It was ok. I've definitely seen better. I used it for a glaze that I drizzled onto my gingerbread cookies. I had to add like another 1/2 cup of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Fast and easy! I was in a pinch and this worked out great. As other posters commented, I used 1 cup of sugar and added milk one tablespoon at a time for a total of 3 added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danleyb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
If you read the instructions (a lot of the reviewers clearly didn't!)...it says to start with the sugar and add as much milk as needed to make a good consistancy. If you follow this you will not get too runny a consistancy and it will work just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
this recipe is good but not great. the original recipe comes WAY too runny so i kept adding flour which eventually made it less watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This is not really a recipe. It just tells you to add too much milk to some sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
For a stiffer frosting add less milk and cream of tartar. I also like to add vanilla or other extract for flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Leaves

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
The proportions are so far off for this recipe, hense the two stars. To be successful I had to start with one cup of sugar, then add milk by the teaspoon until it had the right consistency to be piped on. With the right proportions, however it a wonderful job adhering our candy to the gingerbread. Taste wise, it wasn't phonomenal but for adhering other things and decoration it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
This frosting recipe makes a good "glaze" for gingerbread cookies, as other raters have stated. I was looking for a frosting that would stiffen up nicely so I changed it up slightly. Instead of the 1/4c of milk, I used 1 large egg white & I doubled the powdered sugar to 2 cups. I also add the juice of 1/2 lemon; it gives it a less "powdery sugar" flavor but does not overpower. I'm a big fan of vanilla extract so I usually add a little of that too! Stick to the clear vanilla extract if you want to keep the frosting white. Add food color for color. I found this combination to be good for decorating as well as "flooding". To "flood", you will need to dilute frosting w/more egg white to thin it out. Also, I use the liquid egg whites in the carton; no yolks to deal with & they're pasteurized, which makes them much safer to consume than traditional raw egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves 2 Cook!

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
This was a decent recipe, though quite runny, even when you add a ton extra icing sugar (and I did), it's a bit hard to work with, BUT it does harden up nice. I found using a tooth pick to apply the frosting really worked well. A spoon was to big .. makes a mess! Cookies look cute! Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBEB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Recipe didn't work. No matter how much powdered sugar I added on top of recommended from recipe, it didn't thicken. Maybe it matters what type of milk you use? I used skim. Maybe it matters if it is room temperature? I used cold milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States