Gingerbread Cookie Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Please note that the directions do not say to add the entire 1/4 cup of milk, it states to add ENOUGH milk to make a smooth but not too runny consistency. So all of those who are blaming the recipe for being too runny should blame themselves for not following directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
After reading some of the reviews, I stuck with the given ingredients, found it was RUNNY! I was looking for a recipe that hardens, but it was really runny at room temperature. So, I added a bunch of confectioners sugar in addition to the given ingredients, more than a cup. Then I tried it on one of my cookies. Putting all the icing in a plastic bag (make sure you don't use a sandwich bag or one with a poor seal). Taking a knife, spread on the icing before it dries. Won't be able to spread real thin unless you have the tools --which I didn't. Good luck with yours and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Good recipe, though I prefer the milk and sugar icing version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Great! I added LOTS (entire bag) more powdered sugar to make it less of an "icing" and more of a frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
For once I didn't read the reviews first and suffered for it. This is NOT frosting. It is a glaze. 1/4 cup milk is way too much and it will be runny. I wanted a recipe to make smiley faces and buttons on my gingerbread men. Even with an additional cup of powdered sugar, it was still too runny. Now I'm out of milk. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HarleyGrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
It was ok. I've definitely seen better. I used it for a glaze that I drizzled onto my gingerbread cookies. I had to add like another 1/2 cup of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Fast and easy! I was in a pinch and this worked out great. As other posters commented, I used 1 cup of sugar and added milk one tablespoon at a time for a total of 3 added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danleyb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
If you read the instructions (a lot of the reviewers clearly didn't!)...it says to start with the sugar and add as much milk as needed to make a good consistancy. If you follow this you will not get too runny a consistancy and it will work just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
this recipe is good but not great. the original recipe comes WAY too runny so i kept adding flour which eventually made it less watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This is not really a recipe. It just tells you to add too much milk to some sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States