Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Very easy and not too sweet - perfect with a scoop of ice cream. If the cake sank in the middle it was either under cooked - check with a tooth pick in the center or your batter was too wet. Mine took exactly 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Not quite sure what to rate it. The taste is fantastic but the cake was sunken in the middle and it was very crumbly... Updated: I live at 6000ft and I believe that the ingredient combination here is rather difficult for high altitude. I tried the Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread recipe from here also and that worked at over 7000 ft. So, if you live at high altitudes, I might suggest using the proportions in that recipe and the adjust the spices according to your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Brilliant! Not too sweet, and the glaze is amazing. Made according to recipe and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I really liked the molasses flavor and spiciness of this cake! I think the lemon glaze is also a nice touch - it makes it feel a little fancier, but you can still put whipped cream on it. I made it twice, exactly as directed, and 35 mins was a perfect cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Ilove this simple recipe. I will change this-no boiling water, no molasses, no spice except almond extract- 1/8 tea. 2 tablespoons dry ground ginger, fresh Tumeric in grinder 6 tablespoons. MMM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
For me, there was just too much molasses, if I make this again I will half it. Otherwise good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
It was too much molasses for us. It was just okay. I would not make it again. I had the same problem like some of the other reviews, it sank in the middle, not a lot, but did just a bit. But it was not undercooked in the middle or anything like that. I kept it 6 minutes longer than the recipe said but likely that is just my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This is a great recipe. I've used it a lot of times by now, start last Christmas, because everyone is keep on asking for it :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This is a wonderful, moist easy cake with perfect texture. It's so nice to have a festive winter dessert that doesn't take butter. The glaze over the warm cake is the perfect touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Awesome :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States