Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Liam Shanker
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
cake came out really nice.. maybe a little dry when I made it but delicious nonetheless. I used a 9" spring form tin and made two cakes.. then layered it with a lemon cream cheese frosting.. quite useful for a birthday cake and the stronger the lemon taste in the frosting the better. overall a really nice cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
This recipe came out really nice. The cake is light and not too sweet, and the glaze compliments it. I would make it again. Its on my recipe list now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
I didn't use the glaze (just too much sugar for my preference), but served the cake with Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd, which was an incredible pairing. The flavour of the cake is great, but it came out a bit too dry and I also had the centre drop on me. It's likely my fault, since I didn't tweak the flour / baking soda amounts for my elevation (over 4000 feet here), but I wanted to try the recipe exactly as written. This will be my base recipe from now on, with the elevation corrections, since the flavour is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Superb. The only demerit is the sinking in the middle. So tasty...got many compliments. Very moist and not too sweet. So glad I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
This is my go to gingerbread cake recipe. I did not change any measurements, but used whole wheat flour with perfect results. I don't have the Chinese five spice, so I left out that. It's so moist and wonderful that I don't make the glaze, just serve it up as is. So easy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This is definitely moist and very easy to make. The texture is wonderful, but the lemon glaze just doesn't work for me (and I like lemon!). My husband thinks it is "OK" and he is extremely easy to please. The Chinese Five Spice adds a bit of a black licorice flavor, which really stood out, so next time I will leave that out. I used 2 1/2 tsp of ginger and it was not enough for us, so I will probably use 4 tsp of ginger. I will replace the lemon glaze with a ginger/cinnamon glaze (1 cup powdered sugar, 1/4 cup milk, ginger and cinnamon to taste. To reduce the oil, I used about 3 TBSP of oil and the remainder of the 1/2 cup was milk and some cream. I always do this when oil is called for in quick breads, cakes, etc and it always works (using just milk works, too, though the fat from the cream gives a nice rich texture. Chef John's techniques are great! I love his videos and am still learning...how fun!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
It was AWESOME! I was a little skeptical about the lemon glaze, and it was certainly interesting. But not in a bad way. This is definitely going into our keeper file. With or without the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I really liked the molasses flavor and spiciness of this cake! I think the lemon glaze is also a nice touch - it makes it feel a little fancier, but you can still put whipped cream on it. I made it twice, exactly as directed, and 35 mins was a perfect cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I tried this but was disappointed. Too dry even with the lemon glaze. Will not use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Ilove this simple recipe. I will change this-no boiling water, no molasses, no spice except almond extract- 1/8 tea. 2 tablespoons dry ground ginger, fresh Tumeric in grinder 6 tablespoons. MMM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States