Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Is perfect!!! my kids loved it, is not to sweet. I did it just like the recipe says and it didn't sank. I cut the molasses a little. Jus a great cake and easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miriam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This was PERFECT. The cake was unlike what we were expecting when we had a taste of the batter before cooking, but we were pleasantly surprised. I did improvise a little with the spices due to my bag of cinnamon being a bit old, but it was perfectly spiced. I loved the glaze, but I'm curious to see what it would be like with a caramel icing. A local retailer sells a cake similar to this and they top it with caramel icing, my boyfriend raves about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nyxnx

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Too much molasses.Have had better ginger ckaes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
It was too much molasses for us. It was just okay. I would not make it again. I had the same problem like some of the other reviews, it sank in the middle, not a lot, but did just a bit. But it was not undercooked in the middle or anything like that. I kept it 6 minutes longer than the recipe said but likely that is just my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I was a little disappointed because I really love old fashioned ginger bread and this is not what I would call gingerbread. It is a delightfully very light moist ginger spice cake. The ginger flavor is somewhat overpowered by the lemon glaze but I would not have liked the cake as much without the glaze. I would recommend to top with a a dollop of sweetened whip cream when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This is a great recipe. I've used it a lot of times by now, start last Christmas, because everyone is keep on asking for it :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This is a wonderful, moist easy cake with perfect texture. It's so nice to have a festive winter dessert that doesn't take butter. The glaze over the warm cake is the perfect touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Excellent flavors. Moist, delicious and I'll definitely make this again. Maybe not in the fluted silicone baking "pan" I used though, since the top flew away from the bottom while plating. My mishap aside, this was a great find. Thanks Chef John - You're an inspiration :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Made this and it was great. I loved the flavor combination of the lemon vs ginger. Followed recipe and came out just as described.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
For me, there was just too much molasses, if I make this again I will half it. Otherwise good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States