Gingerbread Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I would have rated this higher but I made the mistake of putting in a cup of black strap molasses instead of regular. We couldn't eat it, yuk! I'll try it again using regular molasses or cut the black strap back to 1/3 cup or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This is quite good, but not as sweet as I like, I think I will double the sugar when I make it again. I baked this in a castle form bundt pan and it turned out very pretty. The orange sauce was good and very thick, more like frosting so I added about 2 splashes of oj to it to make it a little more liquid as a glaze to pour over the castle cake and it turned out really good. Oh yes, I used room temperature butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I made cupcakes with this recipe. Awesome light, fluffy cupcakes with gingerbread flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This cake was horrible. The smell of the molasses batter was enough to make me gag. I made this cake for my mother because I thought it would be great to have gingerbread cake, she couldn't even swallow it because it tasted so bad. The molasses is really overwhelming. I wouldn't suggest this cake if you want it to taste like gingerbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Milton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Excellent, moist and tasty cake... with a few caveats. I substituted Apriva (no-calorie sweetener) for the sugar, and milk for the water. I also found the baking time was more like 35 minutes vs. 20... but once it was done it was delicious! I used a vanilla glaze over the top, which is absolutely excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyDisdain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
YUM!!!! Made this and baked them in mason jars. My friend took them to work and people went crazy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPsCooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Very good recipe and very easy to make. I substituted butter for the shortening and would add more ginger or maybe some nutmeg. Thanks for posting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I made this cake only, no sauce, but followed the direx exactly. My thoughts-- the cake texture was perfect, moist and springy, and just right- 5 stars for that. It also contained the perfect amount of sweetness. But it needed more spice, especially ginger. I would add twice as much ginger plus a half teaspoon of cloves as well. So 3 stars for taste. I also baked it in a 9x13 pan, so it took about 10 minutes longer to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
HOLY COW this is delicious! I nearly gave it 5 stars just for the batter (which I totally ate off the spoons), but am glad I waited. If I could give this recipe 6 stars - I would. I didn't make the orange glaze, but made a simple vanilla glaze instead. De-lish-us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Everyone loved this moist cake. Make sure to get the icing on when the cake is still warm or you can heat it up before enjoying!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1tsp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States