Gingerbread Boys Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Very good and easy to work with. Not a traditional gingerbread as it doesn't seem so strong, so I actually liked the taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I quite enjoyed this recipe. I substituted the corn syrup for molasses but still didn't find the taste to be as 'gingerbread-y' as I would have liked but orange flavor is nice and fresh. Left my dough in overnight and didn't have too much problems rolling it out. My first batch I baked for 8 minutes and they came out harder than I wanted so I baked my second batch for 6 minutes and found they were perfect. They harden up as they stand. Id make this again for sure but maybe add just a touch more molasses
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by juliajkim
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I just finished baking the cookies and they came out AWESOME!! I never liked the traditional gingerbread cookies and never finished eating one of them. But these are so delicious I can't stop eating!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Really, really dry! Had to add water to the dough. Good taste though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This recipe has become a tradition in our home. I find it needs less flour so I add it slowly until it forms a nice dough. I substitute molasses instead of corn syrup and go heavy on the orange zest. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I made these gingerbread cookies with my first grade class and they turned out perfectly! I substituted the corn syrup for molasses and rolled the dough between 2 sheets of waxed paper, as others recommended. I was a bit worried because the dough seemed dry and crumbly at first and I only had 3 hours to refrigerate it, but it rolled out perfectly. The best part? The kids all loved it! Will I make these again next year? YES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmdale, California, USA
Living In: Chetek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Just use molasses instead of corn syrup! Best gingerbread cookies ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This recipe is delicious. I made two sheet pans of gingerbread last year and build an incredible gingerbread house. eating all the construction scraps was delicious. Never been a big fan of gingerbread, but this recipe changed my mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sushidrake

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Lusby, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This is the best gingerbread cookie recipe I've tasted without a strong molasses flavor and with a taste of orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I loved the taste of this recipe, but my gingerbread turned out kind of crumby. I made it work. My sons actually needed it for a school project and modeled it into their letters of their name and initials. Maybe I did something wrong, but mine did not roll out well. Like I said, I made it work. Anyone else have a similar problem. Was the dough supposed to be like that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sgadacz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Foley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States