Gingerbread Boys Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2000
This is my first experience making gingerbread cookies and I was pleasantly surprised. I was dubious while preparing the dough, because it seemed so light in color, so I made a test cookie before chilling. At 9 minutes I had a wonderful lite cookie that was golden around the edges and slightly chewy in the middle. Yum! ...I don't have kids to test on, but I think they would like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2000
I've been making Gingerbread Men for over 30 years.I thought I'd try something new this year.I followed everything to the letter.My little niece & I brought the dough out of the fridge one Saturday morning to begin. All I can say is that these are awful !!! They spread all over the pan & make a total mess.They don't taste that great either.I'll never make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
A good recipe for people who don't like gingerbread. I live in Hong Kong and this is the only gingerbread cookie recipe I've found that many family and friends actually like - not too spicy for local tastes but just spicy enough for a gingerbread cookie lover. The orange peel is the trick, I think...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
I thought I'd try something different this year, since not everyone is crazy about gingerbread men and I feel compelled to make them each Christmas. This recipe was fantastic! The dough worked up as easy or easier than regular gingerbread, they baked light and crispy/chewy, had a beautiful color and a wonderfully light orange taste. Everyone who tried them loved them. I highly recommend them to anyone who marginally likes gingerbread men!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
I have never made gingerbread cookies before. These turned out great & all my family loves them..they are very easy to work with. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
I thought that these cookies tasted good, I like the hint of orange and the fact that they don't need to be frosted. The dough was especially hard to work with as it wanted break up when I tried to roll it out. If I attempted them again I would start with a little less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
I really liked this recipe. Im an inexperienced cook and this was one of the first recipes i've tried. I wanted to have an old fashioned christmas so I dedided to make popcorn garland and gingerbread men so this recipe was perfect. I think it was extremely hard to stir in the last 3 cups of flour though, its a lot easier if you mix the ingrediants in a fairly large bowl and knead in the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
I am not that fond of gingerbread cookies but my son insisted that we make some. I searched for a good recipe and thought this one sounded good, so we tried it. It was wonderful!! I could have just eaten the dough. But...I did bake them up and every night my two kids decorate one to eat. However, I prefer my cookies a little chewy so I baked them for only 8 minutes (for a 3"x4" man). Give it a try. You'll love the orange zest in them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Melt in your mouth good! I made some substitutions: molasses for dark corn syrup and lemon zest for orange, and I added a little more ginger. I read previous reveiws re: the difficulty stirring in the flour so I cut the dry ingredients in with a pastry blender, kneaded it into a ball and it was a breeze. The kids helped decorate and we shared with neighbours. These cookies will become a Christmas tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
These were just okay. I added double the amount of corn syrup and ginger. Did not have that much taste in my opinion. Probaly would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States