Gingerbread Boys Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Great as is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I did this without the zest and exchanging the syrup for molasses as others have suggested. I was using smaller shapes than a traditional gingerbread children so I reduced the time to 8 min. I made the recipe twice: once so I could grind it in a processor for a crust/parfait layer and once as cookies to decorate the top of the parfaits. My husband who normally could care less about gingerbread kept coming into the kitchen to steal the warm ones. Let me just say the extras that didn't go on the parfaits FLEW off the plate when I brought them to work and everyone was raving about them afterwards (Nice and crisp but still easy to munch on and not mushy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Hopatcong, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by adelyn
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This is the first time I have ever made ginger bread men. This dough is very easy to make but is rock hard as soon as it comes out of the fridge also, when it becomes soft its simply too fragile!!! You'll need to roll the dough out between two sheets of baking paper to make your life easy. Next time I make this I will add in a little less sugar and a little less bi-carb cause I could slightly taste the bitterness from the bi-carb when they came out of the oven. Other than all this the cookies were wonderful... crispy just the way I like them. Made a heart shaped one for our anniversary, my boyfriend liked it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
These cookies are great! The orange rind puts them over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Got a lot of rave reviews, lots of people asked to take them home. Made for our Oktoberfest party in heart shapes. Put them out undecorated and left icing with them and kids had a great time decorating the cookies themselves...kept them busy! Like others, I left out the orange zest and corn syrup, but added 3 tablespoons molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This was okay. Not my favorite. Did not like the orange, wanted molasses and found they didn't rise well. I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I absolutely ADORE these cookies! They taste like gingersnaps from the store, except the don't hurt my mouth with an overload of spice. I have only one problem with these cookies; I cannot stop eating them! Beware they are addictive!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Cookies spread a bit when baked but DELICIOUS!! Even my neighbor's kid ate them by the handful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONIA76

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Easy & tasty. You won't regret making this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frencherin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Great flavor! Beware of rolling them too thin! Err on the side of too thick because too thin is way to crispy; as I learned the hard way. Even though mine came out too crispy, the flavor was on point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss_Lisannette

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States