Gingerbread Boys Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Really, really dry! Had to add water to the dough. Good taste though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This recipe has become a tradition in our home. I find it needs less flour so I add it slowly until it forms a nice dough. I substitute molasses instead of corn syrup and go heavy on the orange zest. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I made these gingerbread cookies with my first grade class and they turned out perfectly! I substituted the corn syrup for molasses and rolled the dough between 2 sheets of waxed paper, as others recommended. I was a bit worried because the dough seemed dry and crumbly at first and I only had 3 hours to refrigerate it, but it rolled out perfectly. The best part? The kids all loved it! Will I make these again next year? YES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmdale, California, USA
Living In: Chetek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Just use molasses instead of corn syrup! Best gingerbread cookies ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This recipe is delicious. I made two sheet pans of gingerbread last year and build an incredible gingerbread house. eating all the construction scraps was delicious. Never been a big fan of gingerbread, but this recipe changed my mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sushidrake

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Lusby, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This is the best gingerbread cookie recipe I've tasted without a strong molasses flavor and with a taste of orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I loved the taste of this recipe, but my gingerbread turned out kind of crumby. I made it work. My sons actually needed it for a school project and modeled it into their letters of their name and initials. Maybe I did something wrong, but mine did not roll out well. Like I said, I made it work. Anyone else have a similar problem. Was the dough supposed to be like that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gadacz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Foley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This recipe is really great. I have made both with and without the orange zest, and have found that the zest really adds a nice touch and flavor. I made these a few Christmases ago, and then again for my boyfriend for Valentine's Day. He loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Reinhard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Amazingly Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This has been my go to recipe for the past 5 years. I love the crisp gingerbread cookies and the orange zest adds an extra something. I make exactly as written and have always had good results. The kids are making some now to frost later for Santa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States