Gingerbread Boys Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Will not make again. They tasted good, but did not hold their shape. Used about a 3" cutter that only made 20 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Great recipe! A keeper! I used molasses as other reviewers did. I also used grapefruit zest because I didn't have an orange. Will be making theses again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Wow! We made these more just because of Christmas, Santa, etc... but my husband and I tasted them and decided they were the best Gingerbread Man cookies we have ever had. The only modification we made was 1 T molasses in lieu of 1 T of corn syrup. The dough worked very nicely. These will definitely not go to waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I have a delicious gingerman recipe that I have used year after year, but after reading these glowing reviews, I had to try this one. Hmmm...not sure what the fuss is about. The taste is very good, but I half'd the recipe and am baking them now. The taste is OK, but they spread so much that they lose their shape in baking. The dough becomes too soft to work with very quickly, so I am constantly putting it back into the fridge and having to wait to roll out more than 2 pans of 6. I have also had to cut the oven temp and time way back. The original recipe says 190 C, but I cut it back to 180 when the first pan came out almost burned. I also cut the time back to 6-8 minutes. To be fair, I'll try this again with the measurements as listed, but am not convinced that I will see different results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Review by Owen 6 years old "These are awesome cookies" with a little wiggly dance that goes with the awesome rating. Having never made shape cookies before i found it a little tricky but they are tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
We mixed up the dough first, since we had a long list of cookies/candy to make. Then I divided up into several balls, 3 or 4 and wrapped in plastic wrap and chilled them off in the frig. That allowed me to work with small amounts at a time so they rest of the dough could stay chilled. My cutter was on the small side so I was afraid of them being too thick and becoming gingerbread blobs, so the cut-out cookie was on the thin side. By the end, I had my timing right, more like 5 or 6 minutes. So some were pretty crunchy, and I thought by this morning I might just have to toss them out and try again, but decided to go ahead and put a piece of bread in the container last night, since my sister went to all the trouble to decorate them. So I had one with my coffee this morning, and it was PERFECT. I little bit of crispness at the edge but for the most part they were tender but not too overly soft, it was the perfect combination. The only thing I did different besides the thickness, was less orange zest. I was afraid my grater wasnt going to zest it small enough, so I didnt put as much in. Oh, and we used molasses instead of syrup. Oh, and also we used half white and half brown sugar. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This was my first time making gingerbread and I found this recipe to be a good starting point. I wanted a more traditional taste, so I used 2tbs molasses and no orange zest and also omitted the cloves because I didn't have any. It might be my oven, but I baked my first batch for 9 minutes at 375 and the burnt BAD...so I did the rest fr about 6 minutes and they turned out firm but still a little chewy. Good spicy (spice-y?) flavor, not terribly strong so I may add more ginger and cinnamon next time. Or maybe just go buy the cloves lol...This recipe made 36 large star shaped cookies so I'm not convinced it would make SIXTY men unless they were very tiny...but overall this is a great starter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I loved this! It was the perfect amount of spice - not too overwhelming! I substituted molasses for corn syrup and omitted orange, used 1 C brown sugar instead of white. I would only recommend rolling to 1/4 inch. Otherwise, I found the cutouts would tear too easily. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsteph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
The cookies were pretty good, but the dough was dry when we had finished mixing it, so we added milk to it. We made homemade frosting to put on the gingerbread cookies which were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
These turned out great if you follow the recipe just as is. They were good cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeremy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States