Gingerbread Boys Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
Really like the orange zest, subtle and special! I found that if the dough was rolled to 1/4", I got the aforementioned puffy and delightfully chewy gingerbread boys. We love cookies moist, so hooray for that! Then I experimented and rolled the dough thinner, to about 1/8". These cutouts stayed more true to size, and produced a crispy cookie, suitable for hanging (remember to poke out a hole w/ a straw before baking). Other notes: paddle attachment on the Kitchen Aid had no problem mixing everything together. After only 6 hours chilling in a bowl covered tight with plastic wrap, the dough was rather stiff coming out of the fridge, but that was solved by breaking off chunks, then kneading till pliable. My first time rolling dough between wax paper... how smart is that (thanks SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES)! The fourth reroll is good as the first! Our family doesn't care for icing, but melted white chocolate pipes well for decorating! MMMmmmm... Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
These cookies were so good. Light and flavorful. They do spread out quite a bit during baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
First time ever to do cookies... this was a easy to follow recipe... The orange gives it a really good taste to the cookies. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
So yummy, very light and tasty with great orange flavor. I did add some orange juice (about 1/4- 1/2 cup) to the dough during mixing, since it was a little dry for me.. this punched up the orange flavor more than the original recipe. I also substituted maple syrup for the corn syrup. These guys did spread out a lot during baking, but the result was a cute, chubby gingerbread man the kids loved decorating. Too soft to hang on the tree.. just right for eating! Fine by me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
Fantastic flavor! The orange peel really compliments the ginger. The dough is very crumbly, but just knead it in your hands and it comes together! These do spread out, but they are called gingerbread boys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
This is my 3rd year making these. They are delicious! For a more manageable dough, I substitute 3tbsp molasses for the dark corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
The absolutely best ever gingerbread cookies! The addition of orange zest is culinary genius, it really does set the cookie apart. I also substituted molasses for the corn syrup. The only other thing I did differently was to cut the butter in half and add one more egg. I thought that might help the spreading problem other reviewers had written about. It didn't. They do spread, be warned and pick a very simple cookie cutter design and space them out well on the cookie sheet. Or roll them into little balls and moosh them flat a little- they make beautiful gingersnaps that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDMinNoVa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
Pretty, and much lighter in color than my usual gingerbread recipe. Very tasty, the orange flavor is surprisingly strong but pleasant. Cookies were fairly easy to roll out, even without chilling. (I always roll dough between two sheets of wax paper. I hate scraping.) NOTE: For the folks who are having problems with cookies spreading too much, you may be using eggs that are too large. I bake constantly and I only use large--never extra large. And with cut-out cookies, sometimes I discard just a little bit of the eggwhite, so that the dough is a little bit drier and easier to roll out. Hope this helps, because this really is a terrific gingerbread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This gingerbread recipe is DELICIOUS!!!!! The orange zest is what does it. Not a super-strong flavor... just right. Be sure not to make 'em too thin though; they get very crisp. This is what I did differently... Because I didn't have any corn syrup on hand I used maple syrup, I also did not refridgerate dough overnight; a couple hours did well enough for me. These are so good, I actually have some dough in the fridge right now waiting to be baked for a cookie exchange tonight!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
This recipe was great, except it needed a little bit of molasses. After adding 2 T. Molasses, they were just PERFECT!! Absolutely delicious!! Thanks, Janice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States