Gingerbread Boys Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
These turned out great, I'm not a huge fan of gingerbread cookies, but they looked beautiful. perfect for decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This is the gingerbread recipe my Mother first started using in the early 1960's! Since then, we have made them every year at Christmas. They do spread somewhat when cooked, but I'd take taste over looks any day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
i used 1 c white sugar, and .5 c brown sugar (b/c i ran out of white). seems fine. i subbed molasses for dark corn syrup. i also left out cloves. i might have rolled out too thin, b/c they were done after 8 mins. when i made them thicker, and let the dough warm up, the men bloated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Absolutley the BEST version yet! The orange zest with the exchaning w/molasses, this is the perfect Christmas cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This is a truly excellent recipe. The amount of orange zest is just perfect for a hint of citrus along with the spice. I rolled out and baked on parchment paper - easy peasy - and decorated with Sugar Cookie Icing from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Galley Wench

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This is the best gingerbread cookie recipe I have ever made. I subsituted molasses for the dark corn syrup like other reviews suggested and they turned out great. I didn't have any orange but I added extra cloves and they had a nice spicy flavor. They were the only thing that ran out at my parent's Christmas party... people couldn't stop grabbing them! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Gingerbread fail. I followed the directions exactly. Actually used less orange zest, and it still completely overpowered the taste. Also, it was way to dry. I actually had to butter my hands and roll it to be halfway decent. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
These are great! The only thing is mine cracked on top. Not smooth like everyone else. I didn't refridgerate dough first. I also use granulated sugar. Maybe I should use cane sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Very good. Not too cakey and not too crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Loved love loved the flavor! But they spread and you coudn't tell what the shape was supposed to be. Maybe they got too warm prior to baking I don't know, but I ended up just making them into circles after the first batch because they spread so much they looked like ginger bread mutents or aliens not boys! I still recommend the recipe though because of the great flavor, not so overpowering like a lot of gingerbread recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise, California, USA
Living In: Magalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States