Gingerbread Boys Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
"a hint of orange." Actually the orange is totally overwhelming. It kids cereal. I wanted to make gingerbread cookies, instead I made orange flavored cookies.. the orange zest should be greatly lessened or optional.... also not enough dark syrup or spice in this recipe. I do not understand why this recipe got such high ratings unless its by people who dont like real gingerbread cookies. My husband liked them anyways, although I wasnt really in the mood for orange flavored cookies :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
These cookies turned out perfect. The dough was a little crumbly, but it rolled out fine. The cookies are light and full of flavor, but not too spicy. Highly recommend this recipe exactly as it is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I usually don't care for gingerbread men, but the orange flavor really sets it off. I used 1/4 tsp orange extract (since I didn't have an orange on hand) and it was just the right amount of flavor, light and complimentary. I added 1 tsp vanilla extract, and 1/2 tsp Frangelica (hazelnut-flavored liquer). I used 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup homemade brown sugar, used molasses instead of corn syrup, and used whole wheat flour as I find it tends to have a bit of a sweeter taste. I will make these every Christmas from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shampooza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Really yummy! I used black strap molasses instead of the corn syrup and it definitely helped the flavor. Skipped the orange because we don't like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
A holiday must in my house! We make these each year, no matter where we are staying (I've even brought the supplies when we've gone vacationing in a cabin or condo over Christmas break!) I send some to family out of state because everyone likes them so much! I sub molasses and cut down the sugar as others have suggested. My favorite way to enjoy is without any decorations, early in the morning with a hot cup of coffee. Preferably with carols playing in the background.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serendipity414

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Delicious. These cookies turned out great. Omitted the orange zest and used half brown sugar and half white sugar. Nice and subtle spice flavour that seemed to get more intense as they sat. My brother who does not like gingerbread devoured four of these in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
These were easy to make and turned out delicious! Best gingerbread men recipe I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
These turned out great, I'm not a huge fan of gingerbread cookies, but they looked beautiful. perfect for decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This is the gingerbread recipe my Mother first started using in the early 1960's! Since then, we have made them every year at Christmas. They do spread somewhat when cooked, but I'd take taste over looks any day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
i used 1 c white sugar, and .5 c brown sugar (b/c i ran out of white). seems fine. i subbed molasses for dark corn syrup. i also left out cloves. i might have rolled out too thin, b/c they were done after 8 mins. when i made them thicker, and let the dough warm up, the men bloated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States