Gingerbread Boys Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Delicious! Very much like Swedish Pepperkakor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
These were delicious! The longer they sit the better they are! I enjoyed the orange zest in these. Very Yummy! Thank You for another delicious holiday recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Very good recipe!!! I'm from sunny Singapore, so the heat n humidity meant I had to chill dough for at least 4-5hrs. Rolled dough in waxed paper like someone suggested. Then chilled, cut, and chilled again before baking so they won't spread too much. Used treacle instead of corn syrup (store was out of molasses). Omitted e orange coz husband didn't care for orange.. Will try next time! Tripled the recipe, made them big, n they were amazing!! Party guests loved them n got heaps of praises!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
"a hint of orange." Actually the orange is totally overwhelming. It kids cereal. I wanted to make gingerbread cookies, instead I made orange flavored cookies.. the orange zest should be greatly lessened or optional.... also not enough dark syrup or spice in this recipe. I do not understand why this recipe got such high ratings unless its by people who dont like real gingerbread cookies. My husband liked them anyways, although I wasnt really in the mood for orange flavored cookies :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
These cookies turned out perfect. The dough was a little crumbly, but it rolled out fine. The cookies are light and full of flavor, but not too spicy. Highly recommend this recipe exactly as it is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I usually don't care for gingerbread men, but the orange flavor really sets it off. I used 1/4 tsp orange extract (since I didn't have an orange on hand) and it was just the right amount of flavor, light and complimentary. I added 1 tsp vanilla extract, and 1/2 tsp Frangelica (hazelnut-flavored liquer). I used 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup homemade brown sugar, used molasses instead of corn syrup, and used whole wheat flour as I find it tends to have a bit of a sweeter taste. I will make these every Christmas from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shampooza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Really yummy! I used black strap molasses instead of the corn syrup and it definitely helped the flavor. Skipped the orange because we don't like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
A holiday must in my house! We make these each year, no matter where we are staying (I've even brought the supplies when we've gone vacationing in a cabin or condo over Christmas break!) I send some to family out of state because everyone likes them so much! I sub molasses and cut down the sugar as others have suggested. My favorite way to enjoy is without any decorations, early in the morning with a hot cup of coffee. Preferably with carols playing in the background.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serendipity414

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Delicious. These cookies turned out great. Omitted the orange zest and used half brown sugar and half white sugar. Nice and subtle spice flavour that seemed to get more intense as they sat. My brother who does not like gingerbread devoured four of these in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
These were easy to make and turned out delicious! Best gingerbread men recipe I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States