Gingerbread Boys Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
So delicious. It really helps to only have the dough out right before rolling and cutting and to keep it in the fridge for as long as possible in between. It really helps to keep the dough moldable and keep its structure while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberlynweston

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
They were ok for me. I found the orange flavor a little overpowering and somewhat unexpected in a ginger bread cookie. Texture was good although I should have minced my zest more as sometimes I found it obvious in the batter. I have an orange oil from WilliamsSonoma that I would use instead next time or half the amount of zest. Still a good cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike N

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
We love this gingerbread recipe. Light and really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was, ok. I wasn't a fan of the orange flavor, I felt that it overpowered the ginger I wanted to taste. Others that tried it liked it though. The baking temp and time was off and the dough spread during baking so it lost it's shape. I had to adjust the temp to 250°F and baked for 8-10 minutes, otherwise it came out slightly burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reina Lairs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Awesome...couldn't get enough of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariann01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
ate these as they came out of the oven and had very few left when we were finished cooking. no clove in it as I dont have any ground clove, and i used light syrup instead of dark. still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kharis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Great recipe, I added half as much orange zest. And make sure you use unsalted butter! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Delicious! Very much like Swedish Pepperkakor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
These were delicious! The longer they sit the better they are! I enjoyed the orange zest in these. Very Yummy! Thank You for another delicious holiday recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Very good recipe!!! I'm from sunny Singapore, so the heat n humidity meant I had to chill dough for at least 4-5hrs. Rolled dough in waxed paper like someone suggested. Then chilled, cut, and chilled again before baking so they won't spread too much. Used treacle instead of corn syrup (store was out of molasses). Omitted e orange coz husband didn't care for orange.. Will try next time! Tripled the recipe, made them big, n they were amazing!! Party guests loved them n got heaps of praises!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States