Gingerbread Boys Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
these are great! I am not a gingerbread cookie fan but my husband loves them so I decided to make them this year for christmas. I tried them and they are fantastic, great dipped in a cup of milk or by themselves. I did however use the molasses as recommended by other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Thanks so much for the great recipe! Made them today and substituted molasses for the dark corn syrup. I didn't have time to grate for the orange zest but they were delicious without. A big hit with the adults and children at my Holiday baking party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karisma
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This was a very good tasty recipe. It isn't the best in the world for making gingerbread houses though and I was far less delighted in how much the cookies swelled and cracked. But if you know how to handle dough and when and when not to work in extra flour it is good for a pinch. Check out my gingerbread house to get an idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
My changes- standard high altitude adjustments and I left out the orange zest. I liked the flavor- some spice but not over powering like some recipes I have tried. I did not have any trouble incorporating or working the dough, but as others have mentioned, these spread a lot. I tried several different layouts on the sheet and sizes of cutters, but could not get it to hold a good shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Very yummy and easy to work with! Just watch the time in the oven, I over-baked the first batch. 8 minutes was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This is the best gingerbread recipe I have ever had. I went to an open house Christmas tour this weekend and they were baking these in a cast iron stove. Absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I think these are delicious! I used molassas instead of corn syrup and doubled all the spices. I mixed the dry ingredients together in a separate bowl and then added to the wet. I found them a little hard to roll out, but just have to work it slowly! I brought them to a party and everyone loved them. I did not add the orange because I don't like orange. I will make them again and try to make sheets and make a house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Best Gingerbread Cookies I have EVER eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
They tasted pretty good! I will use this recipe in the future. Love the orange taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrem3

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I made this with xylitol and agave nectar instead of sugar and corn syrup. It turned out great. Quite delicious. The batter was a little dry but I haven't tried the recipe "as is" yet to compare, to see if the substitution was the culprit. Will be using this recipe for Christmas gifts so hopefully will be able to compare soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNP1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flintstone, Georgia, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States