Gingerbread Boys Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Couldn't roll the dough out. Terribly disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
These cookies turn out very tasty, but I recommend 7-8 minutes instead of 10-12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I love all the reviews! Some hints to make it easier: Roll directly onto a Silpat on your cookie sheet. Use waxed paper to keep it from sticking to your rolling pin. I bought dowels in various diameters and cut them down to the size of my cookie sheet/pastry cloth. I place them on each side, then use them as guides to roll the dough to the proper thickness. Cut the cookies out on the Silpat, giving enough space in between for spreading. Pull up excess dough between cookies and reroll again. This way you're not distorting the shape. For the puffing problem, try using a little less baking soda. I'll have to experiment on how much to reduce it, but I like fat gingerbread men! Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
These taste great, but they puffed up so large that it made all the cooke cutting we did worthless. I'll have to find another recipe for cooke cutters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I am not a huge fan of gingerbread cookies, but I found this recipe to be very delicious and followed it to the letter. I did however find I had a very difficult time making decent cutouts. I would definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Box Elder, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
these are great! I am not a gingerbread cookie fan but my husband loves them so I decided to make them this year for christmas. I tried them and they are fantastic, great dipped in a cup of milk or by themselves. I did however use the molasses as recommended by other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Thanks so much for the great recipe! Made them today and substituted molasses for the dark corn syrup. I didn't have time to grate for the orange zest but they were delicious without. A big hit with the adults and children at my Holiday baking party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karisma
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This was a very good tasty recipe. It isn't the best in the world for making gingerbread houses though and I was far less delighted in how much the cookies swelled and cracked. But if you know how to handle dough and when and when not to work in extra flour it is good for a pinch. Check out my gingerbread house to get an idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
My changes- standard high altitude adjustments and I left out the orange zest. I liked the flavor- some spice but not over powering like some recipes I have tried. I did not have any trouble incorporating or working the dough, but as others have mentioned, these spread a lot. I tried several different layouts on the sheet and sizes of cutters, but could not get it to hold a good shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Very yummy and easy to work with! Just watch the time in the oven, I over-baked the first batch. 8 minutes was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States