Gingerbread Boys Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by AvelaineS
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I made ninjabread cookies (using ninja cookie cutters) with this recipe, and they were cute AND tasty! I doubled the recipe, used lemon zest instead of orange, molasses instead of corn syrup, used less cinnamon as I ran out, and added a good amount of freshly grated nutmeg. For the simple decorations, I used meringue powder mixed with a bit of water and used a small Ziploc bag for piping. Super easy and fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AvelaineS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Fantastic gingerbread taste (I, too, substituted molasses for corn syrup). Light and perfect. For chewy cookies, roll 1/4" at least, for crisp, roll thinner. I found they were perfect at 8 minutes. I'm throwing away all my other gingerbread recipes. This will be my go-to recipe from now on for the taste alone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Couldn't roll the dough out. Terribly disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
These cookies turn out very tasty, but I recommend 7-8 minutes instead of 10-12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I love all the reviews! Some hints to make it easier: Roll directly onto a Silpat on your cookie sheet. Use waxed paper to keep it from sticking to your rolling pin. I bought dowels in various diameters and cut them down to the size of my cookie sheet/pastry cloth. I place them on each side, then use them as guides to roll the dough to the proper thickness. Cut the cookies out on the Silpat, giving enough space in between for spreading. Pull up excess dough between cookies and reroll again. This way you're not distorting the shape. For the puffing problem, try using a little less baking soda. I'll have to experiment on how much to reduce it, but I like fat gingerbread men! Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
These taste great, but they puffed up so large that it made all the cooke cutting we did worthless. I'll have to find another recipe for cooke cutters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I am not a huge fan of gingerbread cookies, but I found this recipe to be very delicious and followed it to the letter. I did however find I had a very difficult time making decent cutouts. I would definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Box Elder, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
these are great! I am not a gingerbread cookie fan but my husband loves them so I decided to make them this year for christmas. I tried them and they are fantastic, great dipped in a cup of milk or by themselves. I did however use the molasses as recommended by other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Thanks so much for the great recipe! Made them today and substituted molasses for the dark corn syrup. I didn't have time to grate for the orange zest but they were delicious without. A big hit with the adults and children at my Holiday baking party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karisma
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This was a very good tasty recipe. It isn't the best in the world for making gingerbread houses though and I was far less delighted in how much the cookies swelled and cracked. But if you know how to handle dough and when and when not to work in extra flour it is good for a pinch. Check out my gingerbread house to get an idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States