Gingerbread Boys Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
OH MY GOODNESS!! I was craving gingerbread cookies, but had no recipe for them. I tried a recipe on another site, with no sucess, until I found this!!! I did not have any dark corn syrup so I substituted for blackstrap molasses. I hate the taste of molasses, but these cookies were perfectly balanced and delicious. Even my hubby, who isn't a gingerbread fan, loves them!! I found I had to add a little water to the chilled dough as mine was a little crumbly, but otherwise they were perfect!!! Will definitely be baking again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
AMAZING flavour and crispy - just how I like it. I rated 4 because it is humid here in Singapore and it is just impossible to cut out the gingerbread men as the dough became sticky fast. So i worked in batches, just enough dough taken out from the fridge to fit one baking tray. I rolled out the dough on lightly floured baking paper, pressed down the cookie cutter and before I removed the cookie cutter, I peeled away the extra dough around it. I was left with the gingerbread man and then I transferred that to the baking tray. It's time-consuming but I wouldn't trade the recipe for anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Amazing! the citrus flavor completely cancels out the weird aftertaste that most gingerbread cookies have. I made these for Christmas and everyone wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laie, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
As someone who isn't a big fan of gingerbread, this recipe completely won me over. I substituted molasses for corn syrup and didn't have any ground cloves, but it was still delicious! Roll the dough thin or thick depending on how chewy/crispy you want them. Mmm. The whole house smelled like Christmas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This is seriously the best gingerbread I have had! I hated to give them away they were so good. The orange zest is really subtle but really puts this cookie above all the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
best gingerbread dough I have ever worked with! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Seidenspinner Durjan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I changed the spices some - 1 1/2t ginger, 1 1/2t cinnamon, 1/8t cloves - & I didn't "do" the orange bit; but I'm still gonna rate it. Using the spices as I did, it was a very light gingerbread taste. I don't see how using more cinnamon than ginger would give it a more gingerbread taste (enough to call it gingerbread even). 'Think these are more of a spice cookie. The cookies are fine, but not exactly a great choice for cutouts - as someone else said. They aren't bad, but details blur. Just okay. I didn't have a problem rolling after refrigerating then letting warm up some. I subbed honey for dark corn syrup. If you like the light taste (& color btw), maybe just "log" it & slice. :) A few days later: Just told by the 14yr old boy, I'd have to make 'em again. :? Really?!? Guess I'll be the one using the log & roll tip! :D (Oh, used a simple vanilla glaze with 'em - tasted like the cinnamon roll frosting from Pillsbury) To sum it up, three stars from me; but up to four since the kids actually had a positive comment. :D Big news - well, kind of - there's no need to grease the pan. The flour will keep them from sticking. Greasing the pan will make them spread more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I liked these a lot first time ever making gingerbread. My guest were half and half some didnt like the orange flavor I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This recipe rocks. I'd never made gingerbread before, and not only was this really easy, but the results were delicious - a new favourite, and appeals to both traditional gingerbread fans and those who like cookies but not necessarily traditional gingerbread! Light texture, beautifully spiced, easy to work with and roll out, and the orange peel is a wonderful touch. I substituted brown Demerara sugar for the white sugar and it worked out really well. To answer some earlier comments: a) to roll out after chilling, I found I had to cut the dough into quarters then the small pieces were easier to roll out (while still chilled); b) I had to watch not to roll these too thin (not less than 1/4 in.), and to watch the time and not bake longer than 10 min., or they would singe or get too "crispy" (overdone); c) also by rolling out and using the cookie cutters on only a quarter of the dough at a time, it mostly avoided the problem of the dough getting too warm and soft to roll out/cut since you were always working with dough that was still a bit chilled up until the last few cuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
THE BEST 4 STARS GINGERBREAD COOKIE RECIPE EVER ! I must of read/reviewed and tasted over 100s of these GB recipes from friends and family over a couple of years and I almost gave up trying out my own. I give this first batch 4 stars only because it was abit bland for me and my husband but perfect for my toddlers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States