Gingerbread Boys Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I fancy myself a baker, cookies in particular. I am constantly baking them and my family loves them all. I say this because my husband has declared these cookies his very favorite! That is HUGE praise from a cookie connoisseur! I did make some minor changes to the original recipe: used 2 tbs of orange zest, replaced corn syrup with honey, and decreased the baking time to 7 minutes. This creates a very soft, chewy cookie. I am not a fan of gingerbread cookies, but this will be a holiday tradition going forward for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This is a great recipe. The orange zest makes it so different, so perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
even though I chilled the dough for 2 days, it spread like crazy in the oven. made a very thin, crispy, light cookie. not the dense chewy gingerbread I was after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lowie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
These were amazing! Didnt change a thing, would definatley make again :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gracieloo21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
These tasted wonderful, however the dough was very dry. After chilling, all it wanted to do was crumble into pieces. I had to warm it up for a couple minutes in my hands to be able to roll it out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I doubled this added molasses, used 1 cup ww pastery flour, refridgerated over night, rolled them out baked them and they were flat as crepes, and mushy, so I put them back in the oven and they came out crispy, now I must frost them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naenae are you kidding me?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melody
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Easy recipe & tastes great. The recipe yielded enough for 1 large gingerbread housse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Very good gingerbread - nice flavor. I decided to make 1/2 the recipe as it said it made "five dozen". I used a 3"x5" gingerbread man cookie cutter and 1/2 the recipe ONLY made 13 gingerbread men !!! The pictured gingerbread boys must be VERY little ???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I actually altered this recipe to make for a vegan friend. I replaced the butter for dairy free spread and used no-egg egg replacer. They turned out perfect and many vegan/vegetarian friends didn't believe they were vegan. Four pointers: 1. If using egg replacer, because this is a very soft dough I would recommend minimising the water you use to mix with the powder. 2. Also I refrigerated the dough overnight, but still kept portions in the freezer as I was rolling them to ensure they were ultra chilled and as firm as they could be. 3. Don't be put off by soft dough, they are perfect and worth the difficult handling, if you add too much extra flour...THEY WILL BE FLOURY! 4. Finally, I am impatient and clumsy so instead of using a rolling pin, I used a tortilla press and two sheets of baking paper to 'roll' the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I loved orange tangy taste. I made some adjustments for the second batch as i prefer my gingerbead man darker but have ran out of molasses in the house so i added abt 3 tsp of chocolate powder and increase the spices.. It turned out even better.. :) Would definitely use this recipe over and over again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Chew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States