Gingerbread Boys Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This was my first time making gingerbread so I was a bit apprehensive. Very easy recipe to follow- I kept the dough in the fridge for about 5 hrs before forming, I also added fancy molasses as suggested. I did not orange as I did not have any but did add more ginger. I forgot to buy cookie cutters so mine were just round- like ginger snap cookies. They tasted great and were good for dipping in coffee...they didn't fall apart :) I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Very different, but wonderful! Everyone loved these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
These gingerbread cookies are amazing! I love the flavor the orange zest gives to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I fancy myself a baker, cookies in particular. I am constantly baking them and my family loves them all. I say this because my husband has declared these cookies his very favorite! That is HUGE praise from a cookie connoisseur! I did make some minor changes to the original recipe: used 2 tbs of orange zest, replaced corn syrup with honey, and decreased the baking time to 7 minutes. This creates a very soft, chewy cookie. I am not a fan of gingerbread cookies, but this will be a holiday tradition going forward for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This is a great recipe. The orange zest makes it so different, so perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
even though I chilled the dough for 2 days, it spread like crazy in the oven. made a very thin, crispy, light cookie. not the dense chewy gingerbread I was after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lowie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
These were amazing! Didnt change a thing, would definatley make again :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gracieloo21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
These tasted wonderful, however the dough was very dry. After chilling, all it wanted to do was crumble into pieces. I had to warm it up for a couple minutes in my hands to be able to roll it out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I doubled this added molasses, used 1 cup ww pastery flour, refridgerated over night, rolled them out baked them and they were flat as crepes, and mushy, so I put them back in the oven and they came out crispy, now I must frost them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naenae are you kidding me?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melody
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Easy recipe & tastes great. The recipe yielded enough for 1 large gingerbread housse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States