Gingerbread Boys Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I didn't care for the orange in the recipe. It completely overwhelmed the ginger and I even added more than called for. And I only added half the amount of zest called for. I thought they tasted exactly like Anna's Swedish thin crispy orange flavored cookies or the equilalent. Which I've never cared for. I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
A new holiday favorite! Soft, chewy, and the flavor was definately gingerbread, but not harshly so. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glittergirl94

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Soft and chewy...couldn't eat eat them fast enough! I substituted molasses for corn syrup, and made one batch with orange zest and one batch without. Big difference in taste! I liked both, but feel omitting the orange zest leaves you with a more traditional gingerbread flavor. Rolling the dough out was a pain even with wax paper. I found it easier to flatten the dough with my hands after dividing into about 4 parts. My daughter loved helping decorate them. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolatekisses

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
The orange zest adds a really great zing to it. I tweaked the recipe a little, but they turned out very good. Even people that don't normally eat gingerbread, ate these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
These are great. Everyone loved them. Didn't have the orange zest or oj the first time I made them, and the flavor was so good I did not add it the next time. Followed others suggestions and rolled thin and baked on parchment paper. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This was my first time making gingerbread so I was a bit apprehensive. Very easy recipe to follow- I kept the dough in the fridge for about 5 hrs before forming, I also added fancy molasses as suggested. I did not orange as I did not have any but did add more ginger. I forgot to buy cookie cutters so mine were just round- like ginger snap cookies. They tasted great and were good for dipping in coffee...they didn't fall apart :) I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Very different, but wonderful! Everyone loved these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
These gingerbread cookies are amazing! I love the flavor the orange zest gives to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I fancy myself a baker, cookies in particular. I am constantly baking them and my family loves them all. I say this because my husband has declared these cookies his very favorite! That is HUGE praise from a cookie connoisseur! I did make some minor changes to the original recipe: used 2 tbs of orange zest, replaced corn syrup with honey, and decreased the baking time to 7 minutes. This creates a very soft, chewy cookie. I am not a fan of gingerbread cookies, but this will be a holiday tradition going forward for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This is a great recipe. The orange zest makes it so different, so perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States