Gingerbread Boys Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
My 7 year old is going to review for me. The gingerbread boys were good and we only chilled in freezer for 20 minutes.They were the best gingerbread I ever had!! I can't wait to make and review more cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
These were delicious! I substituted molasses for the corn syrup. They have a nice subtle spicy taste to them but are also sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bluffton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I often shy away from Gingerbread because they are typically very hard cookies. The flavors are often a bit bold for the kids in my family. That being said, this recipe is the exception; very easy to make and they comes out chewy rather than hard. We now make these every Christmas season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I too substituted molasses for the corn syrup and left out the orange zest (just didn't have any). These cookies are yummy but if you want them to keep their shape then roll them quite thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was my first attempt at making gingerbread cookies. I was alittle worried about the dough it was so sticky and soft. i wrapped my dough in plastic wrap that was sprayed with pam and let sit over night. I found you need to have your cutting board really well floured as to stop the dough from sticking. I divided the dough into pieces and kept what I was not using in the freezer. These turned out great and I got about 4 dozen. My boyfriend enjoyed them and so did his co-workers. will def. use this easy recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Runnergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I didn't care for the orange in the recipe. It completely overwhelmed the ginger and I even added more than called for. And I only added half the amount of zest called for. I thought they tasted exactly like Anna's Swedish thin crispy orange flavored cookies or the equilalent. Which I've never cared for. I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
A new holiday favorite! Soft, chewy, and the flavor was definately gingerbread, but not harshly so. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glittergirl94

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Soft and chewy...couldn't eat eat them fast enough! I substituted molasses for corn syrup, and made one batch with orange zest and one batch without. Big difference in taste! I liked both, but feel omitting the orange zest leaves you with a more traditional gingerbread flavor. Rolling the dough out was a pain even with wax paper. I found it easier to flatten the dough with my hands after dividing into about 4 parts. My daughter loved helping decorate them. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolatekisses

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
The orange zest adds a really great zing to it. I tweaked the recipe a little, but they turned out very good. Even people that don't normally eat gingerbread, ate these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
These are great. Everyone loved them. Didn't have the orange zest or oj the first time I made them, and the flavor was so good I did not add it the next time. Followed others suggestions and rolled thin and baked on parchment paper. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States