Gingerbread Boys Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Absolutley the BEST version yet! The orange zest with the exchaning w/molasses, this is the perfect Christmas cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This is a truly excellent recipe. The amount of orange zest is just perfect for a hint of citrus along with the spice. I rolled out and baked on parchment paper - easy peasy - and decorated with Sugar Cookie Icing from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Galley Wench

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This is the best gingerbread cookie recipe I have ever made. I subsituted molasses for the dark corn syrup like other reviews suggested and they turned out great. I didn't have any orange but I added extra cloves and they had a nice spicy flavor. They were the only thing that ran out at my parent's Christmas party... people couldn't stop grabbing them! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Gingerbread fail. I followed the directions exactly. Actually used less orange zest, and it still completely overpowered the taste. Also, it was way to dry. I actually had to butter my hands and roll it to be halfway decent. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
These are great! The only thing is mine cracked on top. Not smooth like everyone else. I didn't refridgerate dough first. I also use granulated sugar. Maybe I should use cane sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Very good. Not too cakey and not too crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Loved love loved the flavor! But they spread and you coudn't tell what the shape was supposed to be. Maybe they got too warm prior to baking I don't know, but I ended up just making them into circles after the first batch because they spread so much they looked like ginger bread mutents or aliens not boys! I still recommend the recipe though because of the great flavor, not so overpowering like a lot of gingerbread recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise, California, USA
Living In: Magalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Will not make again. They tasted good, but did not hold their shape. Used about a 3" cutter that only made 20 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Great recipe! A keeper! I used molasses as other reviewers did. I also used grapefruit zest because I didn't have an orange. Will be making theses again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Wow! We made these more just because of Christmas, Santa, etc... but my husband and I tasted them and decided they were the best Gingerbread Man cookies we have ever had. The only modification we made was 1 T molasses in lieu of 1 T of corn syrup. The dough worked very nicely. These will definitely not go to waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States