Gingerbread Boys Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Absolutley the BEST version yet! The orange zest with the exchaning w/molasses, this is the perfect Christmas cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This is a truly excellent recipe. The amount of orange zest is just perfect for a hint of citrus along with the spice. I rolled out and baked on parchment paper - easy peasy - and decorated with Sugar Cookie Icing from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Galley Wench

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This is the best gingerbread cookie recipe I have ever made. I subsituted molasses for the dark corn syrup like other reviews suggested and they turned out great. I didn't have any orange but I added extra cloves and they had a nice spicy flavor. They were the only thing that ran out at my parent's Christmas party... people couldn't stop grabbing them! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Gingerbread fail. I followed the directions exactly. Actually used less orange zest, and it still completely overpowered the taste. Also, it was way to dry. I actually had to butter my hands and roll it to be halfway decent. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
These are great! The only thing is mine cracked on top. Not smooth like everyone else. I didn't refridgerate dough first. I also use granulated sugar. Maybe I should use cane sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Very good. Not too cakey and not too crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Loved love loved the flavor! But they spread and you coudn't tell what the shape was supposed to be. Maybe they got too warm prior to baking I don't know, but I ended up just making them into circles after the first batch because they spread so much they looked like ginger bread mutents or aliens not boys! I still recommend the recipe though because of the great flavor, not so overpowering like a lot of gingerbread recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise, California, USA
Living In: Magalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Will not make again. They tasted good, but did not hold their shape. Used about a 3" cutter that only made 20 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Great recipe! A keeper! I used molasses as other reviewers did. I also used grapefruit zest because I didn't have an orange. Will be making theses again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Wow! We made these more just because of Christmas, Santa, etc... but my husband and I tasted them and decided they were the best Gingerbread Man cookies we have ever had. The only modification we made was 1 T molasses in lieu of 1 T of corn syrup. The dough worked very nicely. These will definitely not go to waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States