Gingerbread Boys Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
What an awesome cookie!!! I am a gingerbread cookie addict, and this one was one the best I have ever tried! The whole batch was gone in one day. I substituted the syrup for molasses but kept the rest as is. Very very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Oh my goodness, these are a-maze-ing! I'm not a huge cookie fan, but these are yummy. The touch of orange makes them addicting. I used brown sugar instead of white and added more ginger (another tsp), and did everything else the same. Put in the freezer for about 30 mins and cut in quarters, taking one out at a time. Rolled between waxed paper (genius!!) about 1/4" thick. They're sweet enough that they don't need frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nsister2
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
These are the best! The dough was easy to work with and the taste was excellent with a hint of the orange zest. Even after working the dough over and over, still not one broken boy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
These are the best gingerbread cookies ever! Flavorful but not overly spiced. I substituted molasses for dark corn syrup because that is what I had. The orange zest is a wonderful flavor enhancer and takes the cookies a notch up! I could not keep the kids from eating them while we were trying to frost them. The adults could not resist either. Half the cookies were eaten without frosting and the other half eaten right after being frosted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Just made a batch and as others said, the shapes spread out quite a bit while baking. They don't look like their cut outs at all. And after tasting one they really don't taste much like I was expecting. I will be looking for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I liked this recipe but had to make several adjustments. First, I added 1-2 cups of flour, doubled the ginger, and left out the orange. The cooky had a nice texture, but next time ill double all the spices-we like our cookys spicey!!!The fun thing was my husband frosted/decorated them and he had never done that before-he even added the gumdrops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Margaret Warren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emmett, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Excellent. I left out the orange zest and substituted molasses for corn syrup. Put it in the fridge for 1.5 hours and they turned out just great. They taste like they came from an upscale bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Very good and easy to work with. Not a traditional gingerbread as it doesn't seem so strong, so I actually liked the taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Herbert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I quite enjoyed this recipe. I substituted the corn syrup for molasses but still didn't find the taste to be as 'gingerbread-y' as I would have liked but orange flavor is nice and fresh. Left my dough in overnight and didn't have too much problems rolling it out. My first batch I baked for 8 minutes and they came out harder than I wanted so I baked my second batch for 6 minutes and found they were perfect. They harden up as they stand. Id make this again for sure but maybe add just a touch more molasses
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by juliajkim
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I just finished baking the cookies and they came out AWESOME!! I never liked the traditional gingerbread cookies and never finished eating one of them. But these are so delicious I can't stop eating!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States