Gingerbread Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This was the first time EVER making biscotti and it turned out perfectly thanks to the recipe and a few suggestions from other reviewers! I mixed the dry ingredients and the wet ingredients sperately then added the wet to the dry to form the dough. Once I had the dough sperated and each rolled out I brushed lightly with vegetable oil and sprinkled with a mixture of cinnamon and sugar in the raw onboth sides. I baked each according to directions, the let them cool--just to the touch-and sliced them with a pizza cutter! (The pizza cutter works great for this!). I then baked them for 7 minutes on each side to make them have the crunchy texture I love. They turned out do beautifully they looked professional! Next time I may go to the extra effort and dip then either dark or white chocolate. Should be delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I have a new favorite holiday cookie! Firefly08's additional instructions were helpful, and I did dip in white chocolate as suggested by many. Delightful changeup from the traditional gingerbread cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Very tastey!! This will be a new holiday recipe I will add to my collection!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
very good.. I think the reason for using oil rather than butter is for food safe reasons. Biscotti is meant is to be long lasting & none refridgerated. Just a guess...not sure..but that makes sense to me. Very tasty indeed..didn't change the recipe at all..they are sticky to shape due to the molasses. I just dusted my hands with flour to make it easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
These turned out great! I followed the recipe exactly and loved the texture and flavor. Based on other reviews I debated using butter instead of oil, but in the end opted to go with the oil. I am glad I did. The crunch was perfect and the cookie didn't crumble away when dipped in coffee. The only thing I would do different next time is make one loaf instead of two. They came out like mini biscotti, I like them a bit bigger (I would have to play with cooking time though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Made these last year for xmas and I will definately make these again this year. Was nervous that it was my first time trying a biscotti recipe but followed the directions closely and they came out perfect! Dipped them in white chocolate and added crushed peppermint sticks, the presentation alone was divine. Very fun to play around with different designs with the chocolate. Added these to my bag of treats to hand out to loved ones along with "Oatmeal Chip" cookie recipe on this site by Nancy Fridirici, made them with holiday green and red m&ms, so good! THanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I am not a fan of molasses or gingerbread, but after two years of a friend raving about these, I made them... and now I'm hooked! They are amazing! Definitely follow the changes Firefly 08 suggests. Okay, I'm going to go and eat some more :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
After reading some reviews I used butter instead of vegetable oil and these came out PERFECT! They weren't too hard or too soft and had the right texture. These were delicious and had the perfect amount of spice for my taste. Though I had no white chocolate on me I'm sure it would be a great drizzle for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
My daughter used this recipe for county fair and got a purple, she qualified for the state fair and got a purple at the state fair! She followed the recipe exactly. She baked it on a pampered chef baking stone and drizzled it with melted white chocolate. Wonderful recipe Cristina, thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyLyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hubbard, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States