Gingerbread Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This recipe turned out well and I definitely would make it again. I feel like it could use a little something-something to make the flavors really come out, but I can't put my finger on what exactly it needs. I had no problems with the biscotti coming out too tough and I followed the recipe exactly. After they cooled I drizzled some gingerbread frosting (recipe found on this site) over top and it did help a bit with jazzing it up. I would even consider adding some dried fruit to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Turned out great! Followed recipe exactly, except I added a tsp of allspice, cause my grandma taught me that when you add nutmeg you add allspice, also, I just used all purpose flour... The dough was far too sticky to do anything with, so I added flour until I could work with it. Turned out great! Even the baking times were spot on for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Great! I added chopped crystalized ginger, along with 1/4 tsp of baking soda per someone elses review, and it came out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Marianne~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mashpee, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Delicious! I did reduce the spices considerably, because I wanted a milder cookie (1/2 t each of cinnamon and ginger), but otherwise I followed the recipe. I shared these at work and got rave reviews! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Will definately make each Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Munith, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Thanks Christina - This is a great treat. Added a handful of raisins but made no other changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Delicious! This is such a great tasting biscotti with such wonderful flavor. It pairs so well with coffee. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Wonderful recipe.... I made it twice this holiday season - the first time I did not have any wheat flour so just substituted all purpose. I also added chocolate and white chocolate drizzle on top. This second round, I used the original ingredients although used a little more molasses than called for. They're in the oven now and looking really promising!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly as written and came out fabulous! I formed my roll right on the cookie sheet instead of forming on the counter and then transferring it. so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fitforaqueenclothing.com

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Great recipe as written. Modifications: added chopped dried fruit (apples, pears, apricots, red plums and black plums). They cook better for the second baking if placed on a non-stick pizza pan rather than the original cookie sheet. The cookie sheet batch had to cook longer and I ended up standing them upright. Glaze:icing sugar, a bit of butter, milk, and citrus zest. Delicious for a first attempt at biscotti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States