Gingerbread Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I've made these every year for the past 4 years, and they are requested by friends and family regularly for Christmas gifts. I decrease the cloves to 1/2 teaspoon instead of tablespoon, and add some fresh ginger. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
One word: Bland. And that's after adding salt that wasn't even in the ingredient list. I can't imagine how boring these would have been if I had followed the recipe exactly as written. I'm not sure even doubling the spices would help this cookie. They're going for Christmas dinner so I'll try salvaging them by dipping them in white chocolate. Hopefully there will be some people there who don't mind them. My daughter already said that she likes them so at least they won't go to waste in the compost bin. Probably won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This was surprisingly good. I did not have almond bark so I drizzled some AR's Gingerbread Frosting for Cookies. The dried frosting is more of an icing texture. It enhanced the biscotti perfectly. The biscotti was perfect as far as texture and flavor. I made the original recipe as is and was able to make about 2 dozen. Not sure how 4 dozen is possible unless you double the original servings. Either way, I will make again eapecially in December.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
We love this biscotti. I've made it both with oil and butter and turned out great both times. They are a fun easy treat to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
No pop of taste in this biscotti. I thought these were very bland. I will not be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
very good, especially with the white chocolate! i melt it and pipe it on with the plastic bag. perfect for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Not good. Is the 1/2 tablespoon ground cloves a typo??? I have never put that amount in any recipe and it totally ruined the flavor of this biscotti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Made as directed, the oven temp is too high or the cookie has to cook too long resulting in scorched ginger leading to a bitter cookie that did not completely dry out as biscotti should. If you make these maybe decrease oven temp to 325 or 350? Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This recipe definitely made it to my make-every-Christmas baking list! Loved the flavor and how easy it is to make. I used the lemon icing recipe by Carol to ice the biscotti and then after the icing had set, I used bittersweet chocolate melted and drizzled over the biscotti to make a very professional looking cookie. Gave them as gifts this year to rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dgrandma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Yum, yum, YUM!! I followed the recipe exactly as written in regards to ingredients and mixing method. I only made one large log, though. I ended up baking the cut biscotti for about 9 minutes per side to get them perfectly crunchy! These are great without the white chocolate, but spectacular with it! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cblwolf

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States