Gingerbread Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This recipe turned out well and I definitely would make it again. I feel like it could use a little something-something to make the flavors really come out, but I can't put my finger on what exactly it needs. I had no problems with the biscotti coming out too tough and I followed the recipe exactly. After they cooled I drizzled some gingerbread frosting (recipe found on this site) over top and it did help a bit with jazzing it up. I would even consider adding some dried fruit to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Turned out great! Followed recipe exactly, except I added a tsp of allspice, cause my grandma taught me that when you add nutmeg you add allspice, also, I just used all purpose flour... The dough was far too sticky to do anything with, so I added flour until I could work with it. Turned out great! Even the baking times were spot on for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Great! I added chopped crystalized ginger, along with 1/4 tsp of baking soda per someone elses review, and it came out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Marianne~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mashpee, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Delicious! I did reduce the spices considerably, because I wanted a milder cookie (1/2 t each of cinnamon and ginger), but otherwise I followed the recipe. I shared these at work and got rave reviews! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Will definately make each Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Munith, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Thanks Christina - This is a great treat. Added a handful of raisins but made no other changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Delicious! This is such a great tasting biscotti with such wonderful flavor. It pairs so well with coffee. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Wonderful recipe.... I made it twice this holiday season - the first time I did not have any wheat flour so just substituted all purpose. I also added chocolate and white chocolate drizzle on top. This second round, I used the original ingredients although used a little more molasses than called for. They're in the oven now and looking really promising!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly as written and came out fabulous! I formed my roll right on the cookie sheet instead of forming on the counter and then transferring it. so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fitforaqueenclothing.com

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Great recipe as written. Modifications: added chopped dried fruit (apples, pears, apricots, red plums and black plums). They cook better for the second baking if placed on a non-stick pizza pan rather than the original cookie sheet. The cookie sheet batch had to cook longer and I ended up standing them upright. Glaze:icing sugar, a bit of butter, milk, and citrus zest. Delicious for a first attempt at biscotti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States