Gingerbread Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Great biscottis!! Normally ale almond but tried this for Christmas. Instead of oil I softened about 6 tablespoons butter. I normally use butter in ally recipes and used white flour. Drizzled powder sugar icing. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Like other reviewers, I added 1/4 t. each salt and pepper, and 1/2 t. baking soda. I upped the spices, added cardamom (just because I like it) used all AP flour and went 1/2 and 1/2 brown sugar and white sugar. Then I folded in 1/3 c. finely chopped candied ginger. Handled the dough as little as possible, dividing it in half early in the mixing and adding 1/3 c. raisins to one half, because DH is a raisin freak. Raisins work, but are not needed, and they make slicing more challenging. Result is pretty, sliced well, and has a decent level of spiciness. Still, mine is not as crispy as other reviewers thought, and I need to up the spices still more - mostly black pepper, I think, and some fresh grated ginger, too. Dough was dry enough to handle that much extra moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I followed what another viewer mentioned about cutting in butter vs using oil. Especially since I don't know anything about making biscotti. This is really nice biscotti. I'm surprised with all the spices in it that its not more spicey. Maybe tomorrow after sitting overnight it will be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This recipe was good but I think it could be better. I agree with many other reviews that it needed a little more flavor. Next time I make these I will increase the spices two fold and add an icing to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Really, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I LOVE these biscotti!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Absolutely delicious! Wow! Melted vanilla almond bark & dipped bottoms of biscotti's, then when cool, layed them on their side and drizzled one side as well. Absolutely gorgeous and they were gobbled up by the family. Also gifted a tin of them for Xmas & they were thoroughly loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Delicious! Thanks for a little something different that I could take in to the pre-Christmas 'treats week' lunch room bonanza.It was nice to share such a yummy coffee treat. I followed the recipe and was very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Not a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
These were pretty good. I think they needed a little more of a spicey taste, I might increase the ginger next time and add some salt. Otherwise very good. Do not use butter, a friend of mine who makes great Italian biscotti says you always use oil for a genuine biscotti. I drizzled they with a lemon glaze made from powdered sugar and fresh lemon juice and that really added a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotinmykitchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States