Gingerbread Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Very good Biscotti recipe. Just about the same as my recipe except this one is a bit sweeter due to the added molasses. The dough was sticky and a little hard to work with but with a little flour on my hands it was ok. I followed the recipe exactly and drizzled with melted white chocolate. I would make this again, but think the gingerbread theme is very seasonal so would probably make this during the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
These are sooo yummy! As others, I substituted (same amount of melted)butter for oil and shortened the first baking time to 15 mins! Perfect! The lovely, spicy christmas smell in the whole house is a bonus!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This was great and perfectly spiced. My Italian grandmother could NOT get enough of these at Christmas! I ended up giving her all of the double batch I baked to freeze. I baked mini biscotti by making it into 4 thinner loaves that I sliced and toasted as usual. The smaller size is great for inclusion on holiday cookie trays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starshipminivan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
soooo good!!! I dipped one side in traditional gingerbread cookie frosting of 1C powdered sugar and 2T milk. These made me look super fancy at the wives tea, instead of bringing the boring sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devaroni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clayton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I altered a little as I didn't have wheat flour, I used all white. These are easy to make and very tasty. I did drizzle with lemon flavored white chocolate and the result was great. Would recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraV1976

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greybull, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Well, these did not turn out for me at all. They were heavy and dense, and tasted flour-y and slighlty bitter. I'm not sure if cutting back on the flour would solve all those issues. Seems like there is a little too much baking powder. They rose, and became mishapen on the second bake. I had no problems with stickiness - rather, it seemed dry. The concept of gingerbread biscotti is interesting, but this is not the recipe I need. Sorry. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nobody'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
super yummy and just right. i used melted margarine instead of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tawna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Used 3c of flour as others recommended, otherwise it was too sticky. Also baked at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This turned out so good! I did double most of the spices and added a 1/4 teaspoon of black pepper. I can't believe how much it made the spices "pop". I also added 1/4 teaspoon salt and 1/2 teaspoon baking soda. I got tons of compliments on it when I took it to work. The taste got better the second day. I did dip some of them in white chocolate which tamed the spices but I love the kick. If you like a sweet treat, I would definitely leave the spices alone and follow the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Great flavour that lasts, unlike cakey moist gingerbread recipes...and this is key when doing holiday baking weeks in advance!! They pass the test, these will be going in mailers and gifts to family and friends :-) I followed the recipe exactly, lining sheets with parchment instead of greasing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States