Ginger-Touched Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Great cookies. I used coconut oil in place of shortening, chunky peanut butter, and a little less sugar of each type. Used 1 egg and egg white in place of the 2nd egg, and just 1/2 tsp salt. For the flour, I used 1 c. white W/W and 1/2 c. white flour. Upped the oats to 1 1/2 cups too, and it was a brand that is oat and oat bran mix. Used all the other items as directed, including some crystallized ginger I'd had for about 10 years, and it was still perfectly good, so don't hesitate to buy it in bulk! This made at least 3 dozen small cookies, maybe more. In between batches, I put the dough in the fridge and the later batches were a nicer color and rose a bit more. Used a melon baller and dipped it in water between scoops so the dough slipped out easily. They smell and taste wonderful, and the ginger/peanut butter complement each other, neither overpowering the other. Just try not to eat too many...they are pretty rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Very Good!!!! Added currants, didn't have crystalized ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
The ginger just gives the cookie that bit of snap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Delicious! They turned out nice and thin, chewy in the center and crispy on the outside. The ginger added a great snap (pun intended) and I loved the flavor. This is a good "grown-up" version of a childhood favorite and I look forward to sharing these with friends and coworkers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I was a bit disappointed. No one flavor stands out, just kind of bland. If I make these again, I will definitely add more ground ginger, cut back on the peanut butter, and add some molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Seriously one of the top 5 cookies I've ever made! The ginger adds a bright flavor and balances out the sugar and peanut butter. Everyone who tried them was scared by the name, but was pleasantly surprised by the salty, sweet, ginger flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Gulia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Adding ginger was a great idea! The crystallized ginger I bought was in small cookie pieces, so no chopping was needed. The dough is very soft so I chilled it. The only change I might make is a little less salt. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Kester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lamont, Iowa, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Nice combination of flavors with a little zing of ginger in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I also tried this version of Michele's Oatmeal Peanut Butter cookie recipe. Of course I never can leave it alone but as my favourite chef Michael Smith teaches; recipes are just a starting point. I again used all butter, all golden yellow sugar and also used 1/2 teaspoon each of cinnamon, allspice and nutmeg. I did not have crystallized ginger on hand but had wanted to use coconut so included 1/2 cup of that as well as about 1/4 cup slivered almonds. This time I rolled the dough as if I were making ginger snaps and baked at 350 degrees on convection for 16 minutes on the ungreased cookie sheet. I made half the recipe and ended up with exactly 24 perfect crispy cookies which were enjoyed by all. Probably the only thing I would change here is too use more of the ground ginger next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tedew

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bedford, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I read all the reviews and took those into consideration before starting. I cut the candied ginger to 1/2 cup and the salt to half, but left the rest the same. I used a jelly roll pan to spread out the dough and made bars with it. They were fabulous. Very light, but chewy and great flavor. My kids won't touch, so more for me!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States