Ginger-Spiced Cucumbers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Excellent, not your typical pickle. I've played with it a little. Halve the lime juice, double the brown sugar, 50% more fresh ginger, and add about an 1/8 of a tsp of cayenne pepper to give it a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I cut the amount of ginger in half and it was still way too overpowering. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
An excellent blend of flavors. I believe the secret of this recipe is the very thin slicing of the cukes and onion and careful grating of the ginger. I used the recipe as a side and it was well received but the best raves came from using the recipe as a condiment for submarine sandwiches- I had to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Climax, Michigan, USA
Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I wish I could give 4.5 stars, that's what these deserve. Very delicious and I will make again! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Nice, fresh-tasting, super-gingery salad! This recipe makes quite a bit of dressing - it could easily be halved for the amount of vegetables called for, but I made it as written and was happy with the results. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This was so delicious and refreshing! The ginger gives it a nice, spicy kick. I omitted the onion and subbed pure maple syrup for brown sugar. If you juiced two cukes and the ginger and added the remaining ingredients (minus the onion) and a touch of club soda, this would make a great summer drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
A little different take on the usual vinegar and cucumbers. I used seasoned rice vinegar in place of the mirlin and red wine vinegar. I zested half the lime for added color. Next time I may dice the cucumber and onion rather than slice it. I like the ginger and lime flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
In Missouri I'd grown up on vinegar & sugar marinated cucumbers. This was like this but possibly not worth the extra trouble. I might make it again to serve as a side dish, but as my family didn't care for it, I might not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
A great way to dress up cucumbers. The recipe also works well using sake instead of mirin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Although I liked this, I thought the ginger was over-powering. Next time I'll cut back on it. Also, you are going to want to use very fresh, crisp cukes. I used one that was past it's prime & I didn't care for the texture of it. So I made it again using a very crisp one....much better! Thansk Christine...we enjoyed this but next time, will cut back on the ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States