Ginger Snaps II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Great ginger snapes Sherry. I followed the recipe almost exactly, I didn't have light molasses so I used what I had, couldn't have turned out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Just had my first taste...AMAZING!!! Thank you fellow reviewers on the advice to add cloves and nutmeg, although I did not try the recipe in base form, I am thouroughly pleased with the outcome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
These are SERIOUS good cookies. My oven wants 10 minutes exactly rather than the suggested 9 but, mama mia! These cookies ROCK! The "snap" is along the edges and the rest of the cookie is soft (the way I like 'em).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
First time making these ginger snaps. They just couldn't be any easier to make and now I can't keep my hands out the cookie jar. This is an excellent recipe. Before I went into the kitchen I read lots of reviews and made three simple changes to the original recipe. I took the advice from reviews and reduced the salt and added the 1/4 tsp of cloves. I did add one additional ingredient, crystalized ginger. I had gone to our natural foods market and bought what would amount to 1/4 cup, after chopping it in the food processor, of ginger. The crystalized ginger gives these cookies the kick that we look for in a ginger snap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Great recipe! but had to cook longer than 9 mminutes, my range isn't that good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Wow!!! These are amazing. As suggested in previous reviews I doubled the spices and added 1/2 tsp cloves and nutmeg because we like our's with a snap. They are wonderful. I'm sure I will be making these again and again. They will be in my Christmas Cookie tins this year. Thank you Sherry!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
The first time I baked these with VEGATABLE oil instead of shortening and used Splenda they did not flatten but puffed and craked, EXCELLENT HOWEVER, I JUST BAKED THEM WITH SHORTENING AND SPLENDA AND ROLLED TOPS AS PRESCRIBED, THEY PUFFED AND CRACKED, I JUST READ THAT I SHOULD BAKE LONGER TO HAVE THEM FLATTEN, THANKS. RUBY'S MOM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
good taste, good crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
These cookies are amazing!!!! I did almost double the spices and I also added some pumpkin spice! Soooo good !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Good cookie, next time I'll add additional ginger and clove. The dough was really easy to work with. I also cooked longer for a crisper cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julias1

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

All about Ginger

See how ginger is used to flavor so many foods and drinks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States