Ginger Snaps II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
A friend of mine made these cookies last night and I fell in love with them. The only differences she made were to use 1 Tablespoon of ginger, and substitute real butter for the shortening. I will be making these soon. The tablespoon of ginger really gives the cookies the true zing of a ginger snap! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Made smaller cookies (1 tsp). Used same cooking time, came out perfect for little hands!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*Morgan*~
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
These are really good! I took the advice and doubled the spices with no regrets.. next time I'll actually triple the ginger. I've had my hand in the cookie jar all day.. and also made a couple of icecream cookies sandwiches with coffee icecream.. haven't tried those yet but I bet they'll be wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*Morgan*~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Fairfield, Maine, USA
Living In: Portales, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Excellent ginger snaps. I used a little more of the spices that the recipe said also I added a 1/4tsp of ground cloves. Bake for 9 minutes and it came out perfectly soft and chewy. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lani76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
The BEST ginger snap, definitely double the spices and I used butter instead of shortening! My daughter said they taste like heaven ;) Our road trip will be super with them on board!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pinksneekaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Really easy dough to make and rolling into small balls and dipped into plate of sugar. worried wjhen i took them our at nine minutes and they were soft. Let them cook in front of the air conditioner and then plucked them onto a cooling rack, Left them unwrapped and they crisped right up, Wanted that snap when I bit in and I got it. Crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Whitehall, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Used butter and still turned out great! Made 4 batches in 3 days....guess we can say they were a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lakemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Churchville, New York, USA
Living In: Susquehanna, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
they came out horrible!!! It was my first time making ginger snaps of any kind but the taste was aweful!!!not to blame the owner of this recepie but,Just giving you a WARNING be careful if this is your first time making ginger snaps and or you dont have experience.I think part of that is what happened to me and it was gros! I would not really say they were ginger snaps.They were greasy on the outside and dry on the inside. I did not do that part wrong so they really are greasy and dry though , made wrong or rite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sgrace17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Taste-wise these were terrific! They definitely need to be cooked for at least 14 mins. though, otherwise they are too soft and don't hold their shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hawaii Tutu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pahoa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Made it again with only half the amount of baking soda, and thought it was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

All about Ginger

See how ginger is used to flavor so many foods and drinks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States