Ginger Snaps I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
I don't have the patience for rolling cookies, so I turn everything into a drop cookie. Thank Rosina for this recipe!!! It's my birthday and I really wanted some good old ginger snaps but don't know where my recipe box is. I was so disappointed when all the other recipes on here had only 1/4cup of molasses!! I was worried about this recipe not having any baking soda or such, but they turned out beautifully! I did make a slight adjustment, I used only 2 tsp ginger and added 1/2 tsp nutmeg and 1/2 tsp ground cloves because I like my cookies spicy. To me, that's how good old fashioned gingersnaps are!! I also used blackstrap molasses, which is the best of the best (aka strongest) and it has 20% of your calcium per tablespoon so these cookies are good and healthy too! I did have to flatten them before cooking since I skipped the roll them out part. I just make tablespoon size balls and flattened them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
These have now become the most requested cookie in my house. They are amazing! Not your typical ginger snaps as they are hard and crunchy but not these.....they are soft and chewy and have an amazing flavor. I usually make them once a week. I work with a guy that I have given them to twice and he told me that he has loved ginger snaps since he was a child and said that these...by far...are the very best that he has ever had :) These are a definite must try for those ginger snap lovers out there. Thank you for another winning recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2002
I didn't like these cookies at all. They weren't really ginger snaps, they were more like molasses cookies. And they were very hard and heavy with molasses flavor. Not your typical ginger snap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
I'd give these 3.5 stars if I could because one of my kids liked these and we had fun rolling them out. Gingerbread isn't my thing to begin with, and these had a very strong molasses taste that seemed a little too much. The texture of these was great, so maybe with some adjustments they'd be more to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
My son is allergic to all dairy and eggs, so finding a cookie recipe that he could enjoy was great! I didn't have quite enough molasses, so I added about 1/4 cup of dark corn syrup, which made the cookies softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2000
Putting together this dough was easy. But rolling it out was tricky- it would get warm and unmanagable fast (so I would chill dough in the freezer). My biggest problem was figuring out when then were done and burnt half on my first try. A good taste, but wish they had more "zing".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I found this receipe to be very easy and tasteful. I did add fresh ginger instead and it came out great. My daughter always asks for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
My family and I did not like these cookies. They have too much molasses and a very heavy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This recipe was too gingery (is that a real word?), and the snap was too snappy (I know thats a real word).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Button

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Much too strongly flavored. Had to throw them out, I'm not sure whatI did wrong or if its just the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States