Ginger Snap Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I didn't want to "waste" my expensive crystalized ginger on a batch of cookies-- but this recipe was popular enough I might consider it next time and there will be a next time. I even felt a bit lazy and was out of molasses, so I subbed that with honey. IMHO, this is a very forgiving recipe. Mine came out great and were popular with young and old. I added some spiciness for my family's tastes. Cayenne did not work out so well in my test batch, but adding black pepper and/or ground mustard (I know it's weird but I always use it with ginger so I gave it a whirl) really spiced things up, in a good way-- I also used cloves and allspice, but not much. I used more fresh ginger to compensate for not using my crystallized ginger, and as someone else noted, it's better to grate when frozen-- otherwise the fibrous bits are tough and awkward, and you waste the juice. I added vanilla, too, because duh, it's a cookie. But the basic ratios in the original recipe are PERFECT, so adaptable. If you want chewy, take them out when "golden brown on the edges" as the recipe calls for. For more "snap", just leave them in a bit longer. I did a little of both and they were a huge hit with the addition of cloves, allspice, pepper, and ground mustard. Also this looks like a smaller yeild than it is, this makes a LOT of cookies. I had plenty of batches to experiment with and the ones I just mentioned were the best. Add some icing for the kiddos. What a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenistaKaty

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This recipe is double the recipe "Triple the Ginger cookies", without doing the chilling overnight step. So if you wanna do half a batch, just switch to the other one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anoushka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This was a snappy little cookie.. follow directions and remember it's a spicy cookie not a ginger bread or ginger cookie.. IT'S A SNAP!! I liked it as the recipe says but the second time I didn't add the crystallized ginger but added an extra Tbs of fresh grated ginger and a tsp of cayenne pepper and VOILA!!! AMAZING!! Just like Nanny used to make! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
More soft than snappy but still so freakin' good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devon Baumann

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Really good cookie. Was looking for something with a BIG ginger taste and this is it. I did bake 5 mins longer in hopes of having a crisper cookie but still got soft centers. Thanks to Teri in 2005 who suggested getting crystalized ginger in the asian section of the grocery saved me a bunch. Just wasn't snappy enough to get a 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
These were good, but maybe not quite as good as I wanted them to be. I rolled them into balls and then rolled the balls in Sugar in the Raw, because it was a snow day and that sort of thing occupies my preschooler. The finished cookies had a nice soft, chewy texture, and were very crackled and pretty, but I found them a bit one-note: sweet, but without much depth. The sugar I rolled them in didn't help, I'm sure, but I think it was the cookies themselves. I was surprised, considering how much ginger is in them! Anyway, they might improve as they sit, and if that happens I'll revise my review. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
These are yummy, chewy, addicting. Would totally make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Lampman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lodi, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Good but lacking flavor. Next batch: add 1t nutmeg, 1t vanilla extract and 1C cransins. Definitely reduce baking soda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamamia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
The best ginger snap I have ever had! It is worth it to use all 3 types of ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Overall they were delicious i made them for a christmas party and they got great reviews but i added 3/4 cup molasses and they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States