Ginger Shrimp with Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2001
I really liked this recipe. I added mushrooms to it as we like them in everything. I did not feel this is a quick recipe. There are several steps--cooking rice, preparing the sauce which has a lot of ingredients and then the actual stir frying. It was delicious though and I am sure to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2002
This was so tasty and very refreshing. I substituted some crunchy sugar snap peas for the corn which was a great addition. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
This was super yummy. I did change it a bit though. First, I used canola oil instead of the butter with the sesame oil to fry the rice, and I used no fat in the sauce. Along with the snow peas, I added diced green and red pepper, purple onion, mushrooms and bok choy. I also added some low sodium tamari sauce while I was frying the rice...I couldn't help myself. Because I wasn't sure how my shrimp-loving toddler would like the sauce, I left it off completely and served it on the side. The sauce was super delicious but was almost bitter. I ended up adding a good teaspoon more honey. Next time I'll use freshly squeezed orange juice rather than the pasturized stuff to cut down on the tang. A great addition to our clean-out-the-veggie-bin Friday night stir fry. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
This was good and different, but I don't think it was worth all the time it took to prepare it. I prefer the more traditional taste of fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
This is a very good recipe, but next time we will serve it over steamed rice instead of frying the rice. It didn't seem to be enough to serve four people. The sauce is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
This recipe was rather disappointing...I squeezed fresh orange juice in my juicer and followed the recipe pretty much to a tee, although I marinated the shrimp in the sauce for a few hours. The sauce just seemed very bland to me, not much flavor. It was edible, but I had to add mucho salt and pepper :-/ Maybe a dash of soy would spruce things up. I probably won't attempt this again though...Sorry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
These shrimp were delicious! I was very pleased with the flavor and the ease of preparation. The time it took to prepare was well worth the effort. I will make these again soon. I did not care for the rice. I make my fried rice from brown rice that I make the day before. I put a little peanut oil in the frying pan and quickly cook the cold brown rice with a little green onion. I then scramble 2 eggs off the side of the pan and incorporate this in the rice dish. You can add cooked peas, or almonds, etc. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
I MADE THIS RECIPE EXACTLY LIKE IT READS, AND BOTH MY HUSBAND AND I LOVED IT! VERY DIFFERENT AND REFRESHING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
This is a great recipe, with a yummy flavor and lots of room to fiddle with ingredients. It's not the usual fried rice flavor, which in my book is a plus. I used 1/2 cup of broccoli florets instead of the peas & corn. If you can get one person to make the sauce while another gets the rice going & does everything else, it goes super fast, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
This is a great recipe -- I like it a little sweeter so I add 1 Tablespoon of honey rather than 2 tsp. It's great the day of, only so-so as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

House Fried Rice

Quick-and-easy fried rice loaded up with shrimp, ham, chicken, and veggies.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States