Ginger Shrimp with Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
After reading all the reviews I used most of the ingredients but differently. I started with the butter and sesame oil, added sliced carrot, sliced celery, chopped red peppers, onion and garlic. I poured about 1/4 cup of fresh OJ into the pan and allowed it to reduce by about half, then added the rice and shrimp, lime juice, and fresh ginger and baby peas. A few quick turns in the pan and it was ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
We were disappointed... it was quite different than expected, took a while and made many dishes for a bland meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Very good. I only follow the recipe for the sauce, and threw in whatever veggies I have on hand. I also usually add peppers to this one to heat it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This recipe was fairly good. A little bland for our tastes, so I added a some salt and cayenne pepper. That helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Central Square, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I was so excited to try this because of all the great reviews. I made everything exactly as the recipe states. It was ver disappointing. The sauce never thickened in the sauce pan. The rice was mushy after having been cooked, then fried, then steamed w/ the shrimp and o.j. mixture spooned over it. What a mess. I did add some diced red bell pepper and that tasted great especially in combination with the corn. Well, that's about it. I don't even know if I can fix this one to try again next time -- would be too much work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
This tasted pretty good, but the rice does not taste like traditional fried rice. It also takes some preparation to pull this meal together, so it's not quick and easy, but tasty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
This is a great recipe -- I like it a little sweeter so I add 1 Tablespoon of honey rather than 2 tsp. It's great the day of, only so-so as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
This is a great recipe, with a yummy flavor and lots of room to fiddle with ingredients. It's not the usual fried rice flavor, which in my book is a plus. I used 1/2 cup of broccoli florets instead of the peas & corn. If you can get one person to make the sauce while another gets the rice going & does everything else, it goes super fast, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
I MADE THIS RECIPE EXACTLY LIKE IT READS, AND BOTH MY HUSBAND AND I LOVED IT! VERY DIFFERENT AND REFRESHING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
These shrimp were delicious! I was very pleased with the flavor and the ease of preparation. The time it took to prepare was well worth the effort. I will make these again soon. I did not care for the rice. I make my fried rice from brown rice that I make the day before. I put a little peanut oil in the frying pan and quickly cook the cold brown rice with a little green onion. I then scramble 2 eggs off the side of the pan and incorporate this in the rice dish. You can add cooked peas, or almonds, etc. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

House Fried Rice

Quick-and-easy fried rice loaded up with shrimp, ham, chicken, and veggies.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States