Ginger Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Delicious! I made just a few changes - I added several cloves of chopped garlic and added the juice of a lemon to the sauce. I used the large sea scallops, they're a little pricey, but worth the cost. Also, I sauteed the scallops separately in a pan sprayed with lemon flavored non-stick spray, 2 minutes or so each side, then put them in the sauce for just a minute before serving. I like the texture of sauteed scallops better than those cooked in a sauce. The fresh ginger is so much better than the bottled stuff. Will be making this again and again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
Great Aroma and Great over rice as suggested - might want to consider cooking the scallops prior to adding to pan since the moisture relased by the scallops made for a much longer cooking time in order to get the reduction in sauce needed - my wife had the leftover sauce over rice for breakfast - thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
My family couldn't get enough of this one. I didn't have fresh ginger root so I subbed the spice powder--tasted incredible. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
All I can say is WOW. For such an easy recipe, this is awesome. I used a little Taylor dry sherry instead of white wine and just saute'd it until the alcohol smell went away. Also I used condensed milk instead of heavy cream. I also cut down on the ginger by 1/2 to give it a more subtle taste and it blended in great with the other flavors so you don't know if it's ginger or a mixture of other spices. I also tried it per the recipe and it's also great!!!!! My haats off to Jeanne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
Great recipe. I had worried that the ginger would be very strong, but it was perfect. I added sliced mushrooms instead of carrots and left out the last 2 tbls of butter. I didn't reduce the sauce as much as it needed so it was more soupy than saucy, but my husband and I planned it that way. We had it in a dish and ate it like soup. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
I can't stand cooked carrots, so I left them out of Jeanne's recipe. It was a totally melt-in-the-mouth delicious meal. I had it over rice, and a side of fresh asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2002
Used shallots instead of green onions because that's what I had... delicious recipe... also good over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
I substituted shallots for the onions, and as suggested previously, I seared the scallops in a separate pan. I served this dish with pasta shells & portobello mushrooms and it was terrific. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
This recipe was so easy and delicious! Next time I make it my boyfriend wants me to double the recipe to make sure we have more leftovers. I couldn't find ginger root at the store I was at, so I just used fresh ground ginger, and it tasted fine. We had it with brown rice, which I thought soaked up a lot of the flavor of the sauce, so I probably won't use that again. We also had steamed asparagus and poured the sauce and scallops over that and it really brought out the flavor in the dish. We loved this recipe and can't wait to make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
It was okay. I can't say what made it ho-hum, but it seemed to be missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Bay Scallops with Spaghetti

A super-simple pasta dish with bay scallops in a sherry cream sauce.

Ginger Kiss Cocktail

This spicy gin-based cocktail stars fresh ginger root and hot chile pepper!

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States