Ginger Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
All I can say is WOW. For such an easy recipe, this is awesome. I used a little Taylor dry sherry instead of white wine and just saute'd it until the alcohol smell went away. Also I used condensed milk instead of heavy cream. I also cut down on the ginger by 1/2 to give it a more subtle taste and it blended in great with the other flavors so you don't know if it's ginger or a mixture of other spices. I also tried it per the recipe and it's also great!!!!! My haats off to Jeanne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
It was okay. I can't say what made it ho-hum, but it seemed to be missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
This recipe was so easy and delicious! Next time I make it my boyfriend wants me to double the recipe to make sure we have more leftovers. I couldn't find ginger root at the store I was at, so I just used fresh ground ginger, and it tasted fine. We had it with brown rice, which I thought soaked up a lot of the flavor of the sauce, so I probably won't use that again. We also had steamed asparagus and poured the sauce and scallops over that and it really brought out the flavor in the dish. We loved this recipe and can't wait to make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
This was great! I didn't think the scallops would cook enough with just the one minute suggested by the recipe, so I seared them about a minute and 1/2 on both sides before adding them to the sauce. They were still moist and not overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
Bravo! I had some Colossal Scallops flown in from Alaska that I felt deserved special treatment. This recipe exceeded my expectations. My husband thought I should make it for company and charge a fee at the door ...it was that good! I tip my hat to you, Miss Jones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
Great recipe. I had worried that the ginger would be very strong, but it was perfect. I added sliced mushrooms instead of carrots and left out the last 2 tbls of butter. I didn't reduce the sauce as much as it needed so it was more soupy than saucy, but my husband and I planned it that way. We had it in a dish and ate it like soup. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
My family couldn't get enough of this one. I didn't have fresh ginger root so I subbed the spice powder--tasted incredible. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
Excellent recipe. The ginger gives it a nice fresh flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
I can't stand cooked carrots, so I left them out of Jeanne's recipe. It was a totally melt-in-the-mouth delicious meal. I had it over rice, and a side of fresh asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2002
Used shallots instead of green onions because that's what I had... delicious recipe... also good over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States