Ginger Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
Wow! This was great. I made a few alterations...substituted mushrooms for the carrots, and added coconut milk and some cilantro. Cooked it all up and served over Spaghetti. The whole family loved it, and it was easy!! Will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin Square, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
Wonderful! I seared the scallops in a separate saute pan, and added 1/2 teaspoon sugar to cut the tanginess, but the scallop-lover in my house was all over it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
It was ok. The sauce didn't stick or penetrate into the scallops. It was tasty on the carrots though. Too much work for what you got out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
Though the ginger/wine/cream combo was tasty, this was not a favorite. One minute is not long enough to cook the scallops and they drew so much moisture that the sauce was watery. I might try again and would sear the scallops first as suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
This is an excellent recipe! The fresh ginger and green onion are refreshing without overpowering the taste of scallop. It is a wonderful combination. I served this dish with rice and everyone was praising about it. I brought sea scallop which are bigger than regular scallop, and I cooked it for about 2 mins on each side. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
All I can say is WOW. For such an easy recipe, this is awesome. I used a little Taylor dry sherry instead of white wine and just saute'd it until the alcohol smell went away. Also I used condensed milk instead of heavy cream. I also cut down on the ginger by 1/2 to give it a more subtle taste and it blended in great with the other flavors so you don't know if it's ginger or a mixture of other spices. I also tried it per the recipe and it's also great!!!!! My haats off to Jeanne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
It was okay. I can't say what made it ho-hum, but it seemed to be missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
This recipe was so easy and delicious! Next time I make it my boyfriend wants me to double the recipe to make sure we have more leftovers. I couldn't find ginger root at the store I was at, so I just used fresh ground ginger, and it tasted fine. We had it with brown rice, which I thought soaked up a lot of the flavor of the sauce, so I probably won't use that again. We also had steamed asparagus and poured the sauce and scallops over that and it really brought out the flavor in the dish. We loved this recipe and can't wait to make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
This was great! I didn't think the scallops would cook enough with just the one minute suggested by the recipe, so I seared them about a minute and 1/2 on both sides before adding them to the sauce. They were still moist and not overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
Bravo! I had some Colossal Scallops flown in from Alaska that I felt deserved special treatment. This recipe exceeded my expectations. My husband thought I should make it for company and charge a fee at the door ...it was that good! I tip my hat to you, Miss Jones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Ginger

See how ginger is used to flavor so many foods and drinks.

Creamy Bay Scallops with Spaghetti

A super-simple pasta dish with bay scallops in a sherry cream sauce.

How to Make Bacon-Wrapped Scallops

Grilled bacon and scallops make a smoky, savory treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States