Ginger Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I added 1/2 cup orange juice and two table spoons of brown sugar. Plus a touch of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This was amazing!! The only thing I added was a little garlic and shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Oh My Goodness! I was lacking on the quantity of scallops but made the full sauce recipe. I had made an oriental pork roast, fried rice, and a vegetable stir fry for my family. I'm the only seafood lover in this family but my non-scallop eaters ate all of the scallops. When we were cleaning up after dinner I told my husband to save the sauce because I will eat that sauce on plain rice. It is so good. I'm going to throw some shrimp in the next time I make it. Stupid scallop stealing people that I live with...Stole My Dinner. LOL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
This was very good! My hubby loved it! We are on vacation and have been eating out a lot so I decided to cook dinner since we are in a well stocked condo. We love scallops so gave it a try. Pretty easy except I didn't have a way to mince the ginger root. Did the best I could and turned out fine. The only things I did different was to cook the scallops separate. Also after reading reviews I add the juice of 1/2 a lemon. Next time I don't think I will add it. Severed over angel hair pasta with sautéed green beans! Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Added a pinch of chili powder, squeezed half a lemon & minced two cloves of garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This recipe was very good, and it was very simple. In making this recipe, I omitted the carrots, and added a clove of garlic for flavor. Also, I grated the ginger instead of mincing; It was easier. I too cooked the scallops first, then cooked the sauce after. One thing I would advise people to use less of is the salt : it throws off the ginger in the dish, and makes the sauce salty. Other than that, the sauce was perfect with the scallops. In all, this was a great dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I went and bought scallops at some horrendous price, just to make this. I tasted it before serving, and like Beth I found it quite insipid. I read another viewers remark about the lemon, so I added that. It made the difference and the whole thing turned out quite delicious. I agree with Doug Matthews that it would be better to fry the scallops before putting them to finish in the sauce. I must add, that apart from salt, pepper or chillies. I always follow a recipe the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
We've recently had a new seafood shop open up in town and they get "Digby Scallops" in once a week. Tried this recipe and it was a huge hit. Only change I made was I did not cook the scallops in the sauce just to avoid overcooking them. I fried them for a couple of minutes then served them with the sauce on top. Huge Hit !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Ligertwood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I added a little garlic and it was perfect! Next time I'll try adding a little coconut milk. You don't really have to add anything. They way it is, is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
OMG! Lost this recipe, just found it. If you have small scallops this is a great recipe to prepare them. Also a touch of curry is nice with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Bay Scallops with Spaghetti

A super-simple pasta dish with bay scallops in a sherry cream sauce.

Ginger Kiss Cocktail

This spicy gin-based cocktail stars fresh ginger root and hot chile pepper!

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States