Ginger-Orange Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Yummy way to prepare butternut squash besides the typical 'brown sugar and butter' method. OJ and ginger give it a nice flavor. I cubed my squash, mixed the ingredients in with it, and then baked in the oven (in a ceramic baking dish) for 30-40 minutes. I stirred it several times while baking to keep the squash pieces coated. Good stuff! Next time I'll try cooking and mashing the squash before adding ingredients to see if theres a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Absolutely delicious! Like another reviewer, I baked it in the oven with the occasional stir, and did not mash it. (I am snotty about microwaving food. I think it destroys both flavor and texture. I also dislike mashed foods.) I used a bag of frozen, peeled and pre-cubed squash so it took no effort to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evilchicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This was very good. I didn't have OJ concentrate, so I used 3 tablespoons of regular OJ. I also baked the squash in the oven on 350 for 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Really good and really easy. I brought it to a family-dinner and they loved it. I'm not a personal fan of the texture, but that's just the squash in general. The taste is marvelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lelena109
Home Town: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
The flavor is wonderful I well be making this squash again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I made this for Christmas dinner and everyone loved it - even the ones who are not big on vegetables were intrigued with the blend of flavours. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Yummy. It was hard to convince my head that this wasn't going to be sweet when I put it in my mouth. The light citrus flavor was yummy. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janessa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I love all veggies but this was a bit odd to me, maybe too much orange concentrate for my taste? Anyway, I ended up making plain mashed potatoes and blending them in and it was really good in the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States