Ginger Orange Glazed Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I was attracted to this recipe because of the orange juice. I substituted fresh clementine juice (about 8) and brown sugar. I also added crushed red pepper and a bit more hoison than the recipe called for. When the chicken was done I drained the juices, and because the chicken wasn't "sauced" to my liking, added molasses and 5 spice, and cooked it down to a thick sauce. Grilled the final pieces and gave the sauce to pass around as a finishing touch. Everyone raved about them. I'm giving this a four because it provided the basis of a great recipe for me. Thanks Dee, for sharing this with us..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
These wings were amazing. Very easy recipe. I have made them several times. I like subbing frozen pineapple, (like another person suggested). Either way it is a winner! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia C,

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I used chicken drumsticks in this recipe instead of wings. I let the chicken marinade in this all day before cooking it. This turned out really well. The kids and I liked it a lot. It seems to be missing something I can't put my finger on but as is, a very good glaze/marinade for chicken. I served this with vegetable fried rice and it was an economical and filling meal. I'll make this again, only I think I'll de-skin the chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
The chicken was delicious, but I am not giving this recipe 5 stars for a couple reasons. First of all, I don't like eating the skin of the chicken so without the skin the flavor wasn't as strong. Next time I will take the skin off so that the meat gets flavored better. Secondly, I did not have hoisin sauce so I made my own from directions on a different website. I used soy sauce, honey,vinegar, garlic powder, oil, and pepper. I didn't have hot sauce or bean paste as it had recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Not all major grocery stores carry hoisin sauce. I went to 4 stores and it was not worth the trouble. This was not that tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
These were absolutely' heavenly'. I had five straight off! Made another batch for my daughter in law and got rave reviews the next day. Basted the wings every ten minutes with left over marinade and for the last 10 minutes added a half teaspoon cornflour to the liquid. Gave the wings a lovely glazed appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
These were pretty good, but I think could have been better. I did not have orange juice concentrate so I used the juice of an orange and also tossed the orange zest into the marinade for flavor. I increased the hoisin and sugar just a bit, trying to make up for the lack of concentrate. The flavors were good - mild orange, ginger, hoisin flavors - but I think they needed more of a kick. Again, if the marinade had been thicker perhaps it would have caramelized more on the chicken. Still, tasty wings, just needed a little something extra to be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I loved This Recipe...... I didn't have orange juice....so I used a can of Pineapples in Juice and it was GREAT!!!! Everybody love the the taste of the actual pineapple with the chicken. I also added more Ginger then listed for that variety of flavors Im making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B0ST0N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This recipe has the potential to be great, or not so good, depending on what your taste is, and how you prepare the wings. Many people do not like the strong flavor of ginger. It doesn't take much, but if you like a lot, put in a lot. I also found that if you blend the ingredients in a food processor, the marinade is much more balanced. I suggest adding less ginger, and more sugar and orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Nice delicate flavor. I thought these wings were nice and would be good for those guests who don't like really saucy, strong flavored wings. I cooked on a broiler pan so that they would crisp up, the result of this was that the marinade all fell through to the pan underneath. had I cooked them in the sauce on a cookie sheet as recommended, they may have tasted stronger, I will try this next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States