Ginger Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Perfect! I cannot praise this recipe enough. When I was an extreme beginner, I used ground ginger spice. Oh, how wrong I was. Fresh ginger is key! I used my food processor and it became clogged with the large chunks of ginger I put in. So pre-chop your ginger into no larger than thin 1/2 inch pieces. Process the solids, then mix in the soy if you have a small processor like I. I served this with steak and shrimp hibachi, fried rice, and egg rolls. Once again, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Domestic DIY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Fantastic! Everyone loved this sauce! We saved the leftovers and used it on meatballs the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This is a great recipe, it tastes just like the stuff from the hibachi grill restaurants. There is one problem, DO NOT USE CHEAP INGREDIENTS. I tried to make it with the generic soy sauce under the grocery store's name and it was almost unusable. when fresh it made me gag. managed to turn it into a great marinade though, so its all good. If made with good high-end soy sauce though it is ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Better than our favorite restaurant sauce!! My mother loves ginger sauce and this was fantastic, I added more fresh grated ginger because we love the taste but thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SSiguaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blaine, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
Nice sharp flavor from the ginger, but the salty soy overpowered this and I would have preferred a non soy based sauce. I even used half teriaki and half soy to try to reduce the soy some. I doubt I'll try this one again. This went really well with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
OK, so we didn't have the blender to properly mix everything, but the flavors of the ginger, garlic, soy sauce and sugar are fantastic! We used the sauce in conjuction with the Chicken Katsu from this site, absolutely amazing! I could see using this sauce w/pot stickers, dumplings, anything that requires a soy based sauce. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCELI6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
This is the closest I have found to the Japanese Steakhouse type ginger sauce. Definitely don't use a "hot" onion or it will overpower your sauce. I only used 1 T. of soy plus probably an additional tsp. of fresh ginger. Also...very important...it definitely needed more sugar. I doubled the sugar then added a one tsp. of honey. It certainly is VERY close to what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I just had salmon with a ginger sauce at a resturant, came home and tried to replicate it. This was a really good shot at it. I did use this as a marinade for salmon...could have doubled the recipe to have fresh to pour over. I didn't measure the ginger exactly, but it could have used more. Maybe a little less soy sauce. Got 2 compliments from my mom and husband on the flavor. Will make this again with more ginger and try it with chicken too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
The sauce was good for our fondue, but I found it too runny and the soy sauce overpowered it. I think there are other thicker sauces out there that will still give the ginger flavour without the amount of soy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This was okay. It was like chunky soy sauce. It wasn't anything special and wasn't worth the effort of chopping onions and peeling ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States