Ginger Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Yes, this is terrific--I grate the ginger instead of mincing. Start with the exact measurements, then go easy on each ingredient until you've got it nicely to your taste. I like it very much just as written--it works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
The flavor was great with this sauce. I will definitely make it again, though I will run it through a sieve before serving...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
I have been searching and testing many recipes for a ginger sauce that is like those served at hibachi (japanese style steakhouses) restaruants. This so far is the closest I have found with decent measurements. Initially it was too heavy on the soy taste, and so altered the recipe as follows: used 1 tsp bottled lemon juice, used rice vinegar (but white would be fine), added sugar to total 2 tsps., and added 1 tablesspoon of mirin (japanese rice wine, although I think adding a little water to dilute would be ok). I also used a white onion as yellow is sometimes too strong. Fresh ginger is key, as well as a good smooth puree. This is the closest I have come to duplicating the restaruant's version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
This recipe is exactly like the ginger sauce they serve at Japanese Steakhouses. It's great as a marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
This recipe is awesome!! Tastes just like the japanese restraunts use. =) Has great flavor. I use it on my chicken fried rice. YUMMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
This is a great sauce! I make breaded chicken to dip and use the extra sauce as salad dressing. This has become a weekly meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
We found this too thin for a dipping sauce. We used it as a marinade for salmon. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
Excellent sauce for grilled shrimp, but a little tangier than I'm used to. Perhaps a little powdered sugar could be added to tone it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
I liked this sauce. I made it for some pot stickers, and totally enjoyed the tangy kick this sauce provided. I used bottled lemon juice, but will real lemons next time. I also pureed the sauce for a while, because it takes some time to really mince the ginger root.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Price, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-59 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States