Ginger Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
The flavor was great with this sauce. I will definitely make it again, though I will run it through a sieve before serving...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
I have been searching and testing many recipes for a ginger sauce that is like those served at hibachi (japanese style steakhouses) restaruants. This so far is the closest I have found with decent measurements. Initially it was too heavy on the soy taste, and so altered the recipe as follows: used 1 tsp bottled lemon juice, used rice vinegar (but white would be fine), added sugar to total 2 tsps., and added 1 tablesspoon of mirin (japanese rice wine, although I think adding a little water to dilute would be ok). I also used a white onion as yellow is sometimes too strong. Fresh ginger is key, as well as a good smooth puree. This is the closest I have come to duplicating the restaruant's version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
This recipe is exactly like the ginger sauce they serve at Japanese Steakhouses. It's great as a marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
This recipe is awesome!! Tastes just like the japanese restraunts use. =) Has great flavor. I use it on my chicken fried rice. YUMMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
This is a great sauce! I make breaded chicken to dip and use the extra sauce as salad dressing. This has become a weekly meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
We found this too thin for a dipping sauce. We used it as a marinade for salmon. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
Excellent sauce for grilled shrimp, but a little tangier than I'm used to. Perhaps a little powdered sugar could be added to tone it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
I liked this sauce. I made it for some pot stickers, and totally enjoyed the tangy kick this sauce provided. I used bottled lemon juice, but will real lemons next time. I also pureed the sauce for a while, because it takes some time to really mince the ginger root.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Price, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-58 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States