Ginger Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
These crab cakes were delicious! Fresh tasting with all of the ginger, cilantro and lime. The green onions make it perfect. I served these for New Years Day Dinner and they were a hit. I used about a 1/4 cup of chopped fresh cilantro because we like the herb but otherwise everthing else was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
Hands down the best I've ever ever ever tasted (and I lived in the Northeast where there are a LOT of crabcakes eaten, hehe). This is THE kind of food we like...traditional dishes with a slight twist not so overpowerful that it obscures the original flavor intended. In this case, the crab flavor mixes wonderfully with the slighty more than subtle taste of ginger..and the aftertaste of the ginger lingers in your mouth. If you do not like ginger, you will not like this recipe. If you like adventurous recipes, you will like this. Be certain to use fresh ginger, NOT ginger spice. The only other hint is to cut down on mayo just a bit. Otherwise, the same old advice about not handling the cakes too much applies, as they easily break apart. (I held the patty in one hand and used the other to cover it with egg, then breading. Gets to be a mess, but would rather have a mess than broken patties). Thanks, Dakota, for this WONDERFUL keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
What a shame I can only give this recipe 5 stars. It deserves many more!! Thanks for sharing this one Dakota. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Echols

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
Wow these are definitely the best I have ever made! Also they are Fancy restaurant quality! I made a yogurt sauce with lime and more cilantro as my husband likes sauces. Also as I was dipping the cakes in the egg/bread crumb mixture I patted an ever so slight amount into the cake thus holding it together better. I also used french bagette for the crumbs and served the leftover cakes (it was just the two of us) on toasted bagette the next day for lunch. Fantastic recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2003
Great overall flavor! Could stand a little less mayonnaise. Adding a little more crab than called for would really make for a great crab cake. I was only able to make 8 patties using these measurments. Would definitely make again with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
These were very good, but milder than I expected. The crab flavor was really what came through. This was just about the best crab cake recipe I've found, but if I make it again, I'll probably add a little more ginger (I like enough fresh ginger to give my food heat) and maybe a touch of fresh crushed garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
These crabcakes were excellent -I broiled them and my father who doesn't care for crab cakes ate 2 of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
Well... even if my husband thought these were "the best he's ever eaten," I am the Queen so it's my opinion that really counts!! Not only was this the messiest, pain-in-the butt stuff to make, but also they were not as tasty as I was expecting them to be. Perhaps my opinion on their taste was swayed by the mess I had to clean up... but I still thought they were "missing something." I won't make these again unless hubby absolutely insists!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
Pretty good. I will definately try this again. Although I will cut down on the mayo a little bit. They do also need "something else"...I'm not sure what yet. Maybe more hot sauce. I will play around with it. I also regret frying them instead of broiling. They soaked up a lot of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
These were delicious. I did double the fresh ginger, and I used 18 oz. crabmeat instead of 14. I also added about half a minced jalapeno for a little extra kick. I made these into baby crab cakes and served them with a mustard and poblano aioli as a Thanksgiving appetizer. They disappeared in less than 5 minutes with "mmm"s and "oohhh"s coming from stuffed mouths. This is a good base recipe that can be easily altered to your tastes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States