Ginger Chicken with Cashews Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I loved it...but I would use low sodium soya sauce and low sodium chicken broth..it is however very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
We actually thought this dish was bland. I think using fresh ginger root or chopped ginger in a jar would have been better than ground ginger. We used reduced-sodium bouillon and soy sauce, so we didn't have a salt issue as others had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Very good, this is what I've been looking for, I might add pineapple chunks next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Key West, Florida, USA
Living In: West Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
This was great! I used 1 Trader Joe's chicken packet with 1.5 cups of water and less soy sauce and it still tasted good but wasn't too salty. I used frozen broccoli and cauliflour and sliced fresh zucchini that I added with the sauce. My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This was excellent! It needed more sesame seeds so I garnished with black seeds. My only problem with it is that it was a bit salty. Next time I will use chicken stock, which is less salty than broth, and perhaps reduced-sodium soy sauce too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
We really enjoyed this. I did make a few changes to make it vegan and reduce the sodium. I substituted tempeh for chicken. I left out the broth and corn starch completely. I used low sodium soy and halved it. I used this as filling for lettuce wraps. The crisp lettuce was a nice contrast. We garnished with sriracha. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Excellent - needs low Na+ chicken broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I thought this was delicious. I only gave it four stars because I changed some things. I used hoisin sauce instead of soy sauce. Hoisin sauce has soy sauce in it but tastes better than soy sauce. I used half teaspoon of ginger and half teaspoon of curry powder. I did not use sesame oil or sesame seeds because I did not have them. I served this with rice and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I'm giving this 4 stars because we all liked it and that's including a 7 & 4 year old. I do agree that it's too salty as is though. Next time I will use low sodium soy or broth and add some garlic and red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E&J's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, Illinois, USA
Living In: Maple Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Let's start by saying that there isn't any left in my family of three. But..It's as salty as a salted salt stick from Salty the salted sailor. I think that's just way too much soy sauce mixed with the chicken broth. I was able to rescue by spooning in a couple of spoons of creme fraiche (most awesome french gunk ever) I'd use 1/4 cup soy and 1/4 cup of hoisin next time and cut in about a tablespoon of garlic powder, but I add garlic powder to everything and you should too so I can feel validated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt Laz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keansburg, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States