Ginger-Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I made as is, plus sprinkled generously Roland brand Ginger Oil (found in the International section of some supermarkets) over the final product. This made it so much better, as it balanced out the rice wine/mirin/chardonnay(if u don't have mirin on hand). The nuts are a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I used red cabbage and was very pleased with how colorful this dish turned out. I recommend adding a sprinkling of lime/lemon juice to the dressing before tossing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brendenj
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Wow! It's just like my favorite mongolian resaurant "Kahn's". So yummy and so easy. I used the prechopped coleslaw mix, the prejulienned carrots. I made my own pickeled ginger using this recipe from the site Homemade Pickled Ginger (Gari). Didn't have Mirin so I used plum wine, and it awas delish! Next time I will just speinkled the nuts on top to keep it even healthier. I thought it would make too much, but my hubby and I split the whole batch and I wanted more! Will Definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I have to agree with "iloveonions" I will have to try it again as she suggested. The recipe as is was not to my liking at all. I ended up just throwing a bunch of mayo in it and calling it gingered cole-slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This salad is pretty good, if you follow the other reviewers' suggestions. I made it as-is, and found it quite bland. Then I added 1/4c olive oil, 1/4c soy sauce, and 1/4c sugar, and the result was much better. It tastes like those Asian-ramen noodle salads, just without the fat and sodium added by the ramen noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This is that recipe that I make anytime I have to come up with something that is simple, elegant, and delicious. The only thing I've modified is that I chop the pickled ginger to make it flow on a fork easier. The blend of flavors in this salad is what makes it my all-time favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Granite Falls, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Fresh, quick and easy! I used a Chardonnay instead of the mirin and added some wasabi to give it a kick. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
This was good but very sweet. I left out the peanuts, and the salad definitely seemed to be lacking, so next time I'll use cashews (I don't eat peanuts). I added half of a red pepper, and I crumbled nori over each serving, and that gave it more flavor and cut some of the sweetness. It was a very good accompaniment to sashimi. Bonus points for quickness and ease of preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
it was a bit mild for my taste but perhaps it's becos i used distilled white vinegar instead of rice vinegar and also omitted the mirin. I added 1/2 cup of soy sauce, 1/4 cup of olive oil, 1/2 cup of sugar and a sprinkling of sesame seeds as well..(inspired by another recipe found in this website, "Hallejulah noodles"). The end result tasted uncannily like a raw fish salad ("Yu Sheng") that the Chinese people in Singapore have during the Lunar New Year...next time, i will add smoked salmon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ioyces

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
Very nice blend of flavors. I also added about 2 tbsp of the ginger pickling juice to make it more gingerly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States