Ginger Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
So I didn't have some of the ingredients but it sounded really good! I used beef stew meat cut into strips and ground ginger. I only a little onion so I used some bell peppers too. I didn't have any turmeric so I skiped it. I used cream of mushroom soup instead because that's all I had. I also added a little onion powder and some cayenne powder. I like spicy but I didn't add too much. I only had a cup and a little rice but I just mixed it all together and let it simmer. Turned out great! I do want to try the real recipe though, can't wait!! Thanks a bunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This is an easy dish to prepare and tastes pretty good. Goes great with white rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Tried this tonight - not a hit. It was too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This was quite tasty...a lot of different flavors. After the 'marinate' - which I'd increase next time to a few hours, I heated a pan with some coconut oil very hot and browned the meat quickly. So many diced onions and tomatoes produced a soup base, so I drained much of it off (keeping it for another day as a yummy tomato-based broth). The pressure cooker worked fine to cook the meat & onions in about 20-25 minutes (my cooker has a three-ringed pin in the pressure stopper that rises with increased pressure. The pin went up to the bottom ring and then I turned it off and waited for it to go down w/o releasing any pressure - the meat was great). My rice cooked with a little chicken bouillon, and the canned tomatoes and onion soup provided PLENTY of salt, so I didn't add any. As others mentioned, the recipe needs veggies. In a separate pan, I steamed carrots, red and green bell peppers and broccoli (all cut in med chunks) and then added them to the finished (and drained) meat/onion mixture. It was delicious and I'll cook this again. Ginger, onion, garlic and turmeric are VERY good for you too, so this is a 5-star recipe for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TartanSongbird007

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was absolutely divine. Took a while to make but it was well worth it. It was a snowy, wintery night when we had this and it warmed us all right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I enjoyed this dish. Browned the meat and sauteed the onion, garlic, seasonings, etc. in the same pan. Transferred everything to my slow cooker then added the soup, tomatoes and water. I also added snow peas and bell pepper (red & yellow) because I felt it needed veggies. Cooked on high for several hours & served with rice noodles. Hubby said it was good enough to eat again. Good thing because daughter and I LOVED it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spencerquartet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pekin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I wasn't sure how this was going to turn out. All in all, it was just ok, I guess. I recommend omitting the salt - the soup provides more than enough. I ended up adding a little V8 juice because it got a bit dry. I didn't have time to make rice so I just served it with some steamed broccoli and cauli. I won't be making it again, but thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
My family and I really loved the way this recipe came out. I was short on time so after browning the steak strips and the tomato, I dumped everything into my pressure cooker and cooked it for 15 minutes and it came out really, really tender. Next time I will add even more ginger and maybe a touch of hot sauce. I think the name is not quiet accurate, though. It's more like a ginger beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Nope, Not very good. Not terrible enough to throw out, but won't make ever again. Not worth the amount of time it takes to make this. I followed the recipe exactly with poor results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
I used round steak, and it was wonderful. I will add more veggies next time as we like a crispy veggie mix. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States